Release Blitz: Not Pretending Anymore by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

We are excited to share the Release Blitz for Not Pretending Anymore by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland today! I’m currently reading and enjoying this book and will be sharing my review this week, but I can already say Declan is GREAT!

Happy Reading!

Title: Not Pretending Anymore
Authors: Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: April 12, 2021
BLURB
Finding a good roommate through a classified ad isn’t as easy as it sounds.
I was starting to lose hope.
Until a knock at my door came and God answered my prayers.
Except…uh…wrong prayer, God.
I’d definitely requested the big guy find me a drop-dead gorgeous man on more than one occasion…just not as my roommate.
Declan Tate talked me into interviewing him anyway.
While he was amusing and charismatic, I wouldn’t have been comfortable living with a man, so I regretfully declined.
Then cupcakes showed up at my door—freshly baked by Declan and just as sinfully delicious as he was.
You could say he was persistent.
I eventually folded. It wasn’t like I had another viable candidate anyway.
Plus, I was interested in someone else. And Declan was into another woman. So it wasn’t like anything would happen romantically.
After he moved in, the two of us became the best of friends. We even started to give each other advice on getting our crushes to notice us.
Eventually, Declan concocted an idea: we should pretend to be a couple to make our love interests jealous.
I was hesitant, but went along with it anyway. To my utter shock, his crazy plan worked.
Now I was dating the supposed man of my dreams, and my best friend had the woman of his.
But there was one problem.
I couldn’t stop thinking about Declan.
Those feelings we were trying to fake?
Yeah…I wasn’t pretending anymore.
PURCHASE LINKS
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
ALSO AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK & AUDIO
PENELOPE WARD


Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance. 
She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism.
With over two million books sold, she is a 21-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels. Her books have been translated into over a dozen languages and can be found in bookstores around the world.
VI KEELAND
Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over a hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-five languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.
OTHER BOOKS BY PENELOPE & VI
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
ALSO AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK & AUDIO
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
ALSO AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK & AUDIO
OTHER BOOKS BY PENELOPE
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
B&N / KOBO / APPLE BOOKS
GOOGLE PLAY / PAPERBACK
OTHER BOOKS BY VI
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
B&N / KOBO / APPLE BOOKS
GOOGLE PLAY / 
PAPERBACK
Find more books

Review Tour: Kill Me Tomorrow by Britney King

Title: Kill Me Tomorrow
Author: Britney King
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Release Date: April 1, 2021
 
 
From the bestselling author of The Social Affair and HER comes a mind-bending thriller that’s soaked with raw sensuality, as an investigator’s search takes a wicked turn when he meets a beautiful and provocative woman.
Ali is a sex therapist-slash-guru, famous for the work she does helping others find pleasure.
The problem: Ali can never quite find it for herself.
Her life’s work makes nothing taboo, nothing off limits. And she’s tried everything short of murder. Although, with the way things are going, it’s not off the table.
When Ethan Lane is hired to investigate the death of a wealthy bachelor, he isn’t expecting to stumble into a string of murders. The victims are men, and all members of a popular dating app. Operating undercover with a profile of his own, he meets the woman of his dreams—who also happens to be his best suspect.
The question: Can Lane stay alive long enough to prove his theory? And does he want to?
Jenn Review
4 Stars
I know that I can always turn to Britney King when I’m in the mood for something that will mess with my mind and leave me saying ‘what just happened’ and she’s done it again with Kill Me Tomorrow. It is twisty and complex and truly kept me guessing, I would think I had an idea and then nope, whole new twist. I continually questioned who I liked and who I suspected and it was such a thrill ride!
I really don’t want to give this story away, but Ali, Ethan and another unknown will take you on a journey that is suspenseful, sexy and thrilling. I really love Britney King’s ability to tell a story. It’s definitely not one dimensional you feel yourself invested in what is happening. I highly recommend you pick up this book and see if you can figure out who the killer is!
Hello. I’m Britney.

I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, children, a dog named Gatsby, one ridiculous cat, and a partridge in a pear tree.

When I’m not wrangling the things mentioned above, I write psychological, domestic, and romantic thrillers set in suburbia.


Currently, I’m writing three series and several standalone novels.

The Bedrock Series features an unlikely heroine who should have known better. Turns out, she didn’t. Thus she finds herself tangled in a messy, dangerous, forbidden love story and face-to-face with a madman hell-bent on revenge. The series has been compared to Fatal Attraction, Single White Female, and Basic Instinct.

The Water Series follows the shady love story of an unconventional married couple—he’s an assassin—she kills for fun. It has been compared to a crazier book version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Also, Dexter.

Around The Bend is a heart-pounding standalone, which traces the journey of a well-to-do suburban housewife, and her life as it unravels, thanks to the secrets she keeps. If she were the only one with things she wanted to keep hidden, then maybe it wouldn’t have turned out so bad. But she wasn’t.

The With You Series at its core is a deep love story about unlikely friends who travel the world; trying to find themselves, together and apart. Packed with drama and adventure along with a heavy dose of suspense, it has been compared to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Love, Rosie.

The Social Affair
 is an intense standalone about a timeless couple who find themselves with a secret admirer they hadn’t bargained for. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, the novel explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience.

It is reminiscent of films such as One Hour Photo and Play Misty For Me. Classics. Without a doubt, connecting with readers is the best part of this gig. If you’d like to connect, shoot me an email. You can also find me on FacebookInstagram, and occasionally on Twitter.

HOSTED BY:

EXCERPT REVEAL: Not Pretending Anymore by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

We are excited to share the Excerpt Reveal for Not Pretending Anymore by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland! I’m so excited about this book and you can check out chapter 1 here!

Happy Reading!

Title: Not Pretending Anymore
Authors: Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland
Genre: Standalone Contemporary Romance
Release Date: April 12, 2021
Excited about Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland’s upcoming release, Not Pretending Anymore?
Check out this SNEAK PEEK of CHAPTER 1!
CHAPTER ONE
Molly
“So, what do you do for a living?”
The woman drummed her fingers on her thigh. “I’m a musician.”
I glanced down at the renter’s application in my hand. Lyric Chords was the name listed at the top.
I bit my tongue and tried to keep an open mind. This was the twelfth woman I’d interviewed as a prospective roommate. Just because she had a few safety pins in her eyebrow and what looked like a dog collar around her neck didn’t mean I should rule her out.
“Oh. That’s nice. Are you a singer?”
Lyric shook her head. “Drummer. Do you know the dimensions of the bedroom I’ll be sleeping in? I have two sets of drums I need to fit.”
“Umm… I think it’s fourteen by fourteen. But you don’t practice at home, right? I wrote in my ad that I’m looking for a quiet roommate because I work nights.”
“I do. But no worries. I’ll practice in my room.”
My bedroom and my potential roommate’s bedroom shared a wall, so that was the end of interview number twelve. I sighed and forced a smile. “Thank you for coming. I have a few other people left to meet with before I decide. I’ll let you know.”
“Great.” The woman stood. “Also, I know your ad said two months’ rent up front, but I’m running a little short right now. Would one be okay?”
I smiled. “Sure, no problem.” Since you’re not going to be living here.
After Drummergirl, I interviewed two more candidates. One wanted her boyfriend to move into the room with her, even though my ad had specified I was only looking for a single. And the other arrived twenty minutes late, reeked of alcohol, and slurred her words…at three thirty in the afternoon.
Why in the hell was it so difficult to find a roommate in a city of almost three-million people? I needed my last interview of the day to be a miracle, or I was going to have to shell out money for another ad and start the entire process all over. And I definitely didn’t have the time or the funds for that. Rent was due in two weeks. If I got stuck paying the full amount on this place myself again, I’d be eating cat food for a month.
When my last appointment knocked right on time, I took a deep breath, looked up at the ceiling, and asked the big guy in the sky for a little assistance.
Opening the door, I blinked a few times.
Uhhh. I think you answered the wrong prayer, God.
A man stood in my hallway—and not just any man, an absolutely gorgeous one with a perfect, straight nose, cheekbones to die for, a masculine, square jaw, full lips, tanned skin, and the sexiest chocolate brown, almond-shaped eyes I’d ever seen in my life.
“Uh. Can I help you?”
He flashed a killer smile, one that I immediately suspected had made countless women remove their panties.
“Hi. I have a four-thirty appointment with Molly Corrigan.”
“You do?” I had the last application in my hand and looked down at the name on the top. “I don’t think so. My appointment is with a D. Tate?”
He extended a hand. “That’s me. Declan Tate.”
“But…you’re…not a woman.”
He smiled again. “You’re correct. Very observant. I am most definitely not a woman. But my last roommate told me I should’ve been because I use moisturizer at night and cried at the end of Marley and Me. And if I’m being honest, I also got a little watery at the end of Toy Story, so maybe I’m a bit of a wuss. Either way, I think you should consider those my positive feminine qualities.”
I was thoroughly confused. “Umm… I’m sorry. You must’ve missed that my ad said female only.”
“Actually, I didn’t. But if you’ll give me just five minutes, I think I can convince you I would be a better roommate than a woman.”
I chuckled. “Let me get this straight… You hid your first name—what did you say it was again?”
“Declan.”
“Right. Declan. Anyway, you applied to an ad for a female roommate, intentionally deceiving the person who is going to decide if you get the room by leaving your first name off. And your strategy is to convince me I don’t really know what I want in less than five minutes? Do I have that right?”
He flashed that boyish charm again. “You sure do.”
I debated how to handle the situation. On one hand, he was going to waste my time, and I had done enough of that today. But on the other, my curiosity was definitely piqued. Something about his grin told me this could be amusing. Screw it. I had nothing better to do anyway.
I opened the door wider and stepped aside, holding my hand out for him to enter. “I’m setting the timer on my phone, and I’m getting a glass of wine before you start. I like a drink while I’m being entertained.”
Declan smirked and strolled into my apartment.
I motioned to the couch. “Have a seat. I’ll just be a minute.”
When I got to the kitchen, he called after me, “Hey, Mollz?”
I turned back. “Yes?”
“How about you make that two glasses of wine?”
I chuckled. “Sure. Why not, Decs.”
I poured a couple of glasses of pinot grigio and returned to the living room.
“Here you go. Hope you like white.”
“You see? We’re perfect together already. I prefer white over red.”
I brought my wine to my lips. “Yes, perfect. A match made in heaven. I think we might even be soul mates.”
Declan showed me his pearly whites once again. He really did have a great smile, nice teeth, too. Too bad he also had a penis. I knocked back half the contents of my glass and placed it on the coffee table. Picking up my cell, I swiped to the timer app and set it for five minutes.
I showed him the screen. “You ready?”
“I’m always ready.”
I pressed start, placed the phone face up on the coffee table between us, and folded my hands. “Go.”
“Okay. Well…what’s your favorite color?”
“My favorite color?”
Declan pointed to the timer. “Time’s a ticking, Molly. I’m going to need you to not repeat questions.”
I laughed. “Fine. My favorite color is pink.”
Declan reached into one of his pant pockets and pulled out a set of keys. The keychain had a bunch of pink beads with white letters between each one. The letters spelled out his name. “Mine too.”
I arched a brow. “Did you make that yourself?”
“No. My niece, Arianna, made it for me.”
“So how do I know that isn’t just Arianna’s favorite color?”
“Good point. Let’s move on. Your ad said you work nights.”
“That’s right. I’m a nurse. I work the night shift on the maternity ward.”
“So you sleep during the day, then?”
“I get off at seven, and I try to get to sleep as soon as I get home.”
He held his hand to his chest. “I work days. I leave for the gym by six and usually don’t get home until after seven at night. So the apartment will be quiet when you need it to be.”
I nodded. “Okay. I’ll give you that that would make you a good roommate. But most people work days, so it’s not really something that makes you too special.”
“Do you cook?” he said.
“Does macaroni and cheese count?”
“I grew up in a multigenerational Italian home. My nonna taught me how to make sauce from scratch.”
“So you’re going to cook for me?”
“If that’s what it takes to get this apartment, yes.”
“As tempting as that might be, there’s an Italian restaurant around the corner that makes great food. Funny enough, it’s called Nonna’s Place, and an actual nonna makes most of my meals. Not a knockoff.”
Declan took an exaggerated breath and blew it out. He glanced at the cell on the table. “Three minutes and thirty-eight seconds. I can see you’re not going to make this easy. How about you tell me why you can’t have a male roommate so I can address that head-on. Is it because of the toilet-seat thing? Because I have four older sisters, so I’m appropriately trained. When I was eight, I made the mistake of leaving it up once, and my sister sat down where I’d accidentally left a little pee. She dunked my head in the toilet bowl before she flushed. That was the last time I left the seat up.” He held up three fingers. “Scout’s honor. It won’t be an issue.”
I smiled. “It’s not because of the toilet thing.”
“Alright. So why don’t you want a male roommate, then?”
I’d actually never given much thought to why my roommate had to be female. It just seemed natural to have another woman sharing the apartment. “Well…I don’t really have a specific reason. I would just be more comfortable living with another woman. For example, I sleep in a T-shirt and underwear. When I get up to start the coffee, I don’t get dressed. It would be weird to do that in front of a man.”
“Why?”
“Why would it be weird to walk around with my ass cheeks on display in front of a man and not a woman?”
“Yes.”
I shrugged. “I don’t know. It just would. I guess because the women I’ve lived with aren’t attracted to other women, so it doesn’t feel sexual in any way.”
“Ah. Now we’re getting to the crux of your issue. So you’re afraid of some sexual tension going on between you and me? Is it because I’m so handsome?”
“What? No! And aren’t you full of yourself, assuming I think you’re handsome, and I’m worried I won’t be able to control myself.”
“Just keeping it real, Mollz. You’re only giving me five minutes, so I’m trying to get to the heart of the reason.”
“I guess I just don’t want to feel like I have to cover up to come out of my bedroom. When I dry my hair, I wear a towel or a bra and underwear—that type of thing.”
“Would you feel you had to cover up if I told you I was gay?”
That question gave me pause. Would I? I wasn’t sure. “Are you?”
“Fuck, no. I was just trying to pinpoint your issue. Is it the fact that I’m a man, or the fact that I might admire your ass if it were on display? Sounds like it’s the latter. So let me put your mind at ease: I won’t.”
I felt oddly offended. “What’s wrong with my ass?”
He chuckled. “I wouldn’t know. I haven’t looked. You know why?”
“Why?”
“Because I’m in love with someone else.”
As insane as it was, I felt a pang of jealousy. “Oh. Well, why aren’t you moving in with her?”
“Because she doesn’t return the feelings…yet. So basically, if your concern about having a guy for a roommate is that he’s going to be checking you out, you have nothing to worry about with me. I’m a one-woman man. If you want, I can give you the numbers of some of my exes for references. I’m no cheater.”
Hmmm… “I don’t know…”
Declan looked down at the clock. Thirty-one seconds were left. “We’re running out of time, so we need to speed things up. How about if I just give you the facts you need to know?”
“That would be good.”
“I’m twenty-eight years old. I make six figures. My credit score is eight hundred and ten, and I have references from previous landlords. I’m neat and clean up after myself. I’m not home a lot, but when I am, I’m pretty quiet. I’m also damn good with a hammer.” He glanced around my apartment and pointed at a hole I’d accidentally made in the wall when I flung the closet door open too hard. “I can spackle that and put on a door stopper so it won’t happen again.” He pointed to the kitchen. “And those cabinets are pretty tall. I’m six foot one. No more having to stand on a chair to reach something on the top shelf. And—”
The timer on the stopwatch buzzed.
“Can I just say one last thing?”
“Sure. Why not?”
“I’ll share my Hulu and Netflix passwords. I have the premium Hulu account.”
I laughed. “Well, those are some pretty enticing qualities for a roommate.”
He smiled. “So I’m in?”
I sighed. “I’m sorry. While I appreciate your tenacity, unfortunately, you’re not. Though I interviewed fourteen other people today, and I have to say, you do seem like you’ll make some other lucky person a fantastic roomie.”
Declan frowned, but nodded. “I figured it was worth a shot. This is a great building, and I work right around the corner. It’s hard to find an apartment where it’s only a six-month commitment.”
“My lease is up then, and I haven’t decided if I’m going to extend or not.”
“See? That’s another reason I’d be perfect. I’m only in town for six more months.”
“I’m sorry. This is definitely a case of it’s me and not you.”
He picked up his wine and guzzled it down before standing and extending his hand. “I appreciate you giving me your time. And thanks for the pinot.”
We shook. “It was nice to meet you, Declan.”
After I walked him out, I shut the door and leaned back against it. What a shame; he really seemed like a nice guy and the best candidate I’d met by a mile. I was just about to go wallow in another glass of alcohol when there was a knock at my door. Checking the peephole before opening, I found Declan standing there.
“I forgot something important,” he said.
“Oh? What’s that?”
He took out his wallet and produced a photo of a nun. “This is my sister Catherine, and it’s not a costume from Halloween. She’s a legit nun. How bad can a person be if his sister is a nun?”
I laughed. “Is this the sister who dunked your head in the toilet?”
He grinned. “It is, actually.”
“Well, I’m not sure there’s a direct correlation between your sister deciding to dedicate her life to the church and you being a good person. Though, even if I take your word for it, it still doesn’t change my answer.”
Declan’s shoulders drooped. “Had to try. She tells me her being a nun won’t get me into heaven. Thought maybe it was good for something.”
“Goodbye, Declan.”
“Later, Mollz.”
***
“So…how’s the roommate search going?” Emma poured a cup of coffee and sat down at the small table in our break room.
I sighed. “Why is it so hard to find a normal person these days? I’ve interviewed more than a dozen people, and not one suitable candidate.”
“Did you post an ad on the employee bulletin board, like I suggested?”
I shook my head. “I don’t want another nurse or tech. It makes it weird at work if things don’t work out.”
“Maybe Dr. Dandy will apply.” She wiggled her eyebrows. “I heard he’s sleeping on Dr. Cohen’s couch until he finds a place.”
That information certainly perked me up. “Really? Will and whatshername broke up?”
“Yup. Lisa in X-ray told me Dr. Cohen told her he’s staying with him. Apparently he and the wannabe actress are finito.”
“Wow.”
Emma smiled. “Yup. And fair warning, my friend… I’m allowing a ten-day grace period for him to grieve the end of a year-long relationship. But after that, I’m going to be up your butt making sure you let the man know you’re interested. He’s not going to be on the market for long, and you missed your opportunity last time he was single. You can’t keep pining for the guy.”
Of course she was right. And while I felt elated that Will was back on the market, the thought of coming clean to him about my feelings made me want to throw up. Will Daniels—or as Emma called him, Dr. Dandy, because of his last name and uncanny resemblance to a male model named David Gandy—and I had been good friends for four years now. We’d started on the very same day at the hospital and had gone through orientation together. I’d had a boyfriend back then, and he’d been seeing a girl from med school at the time, so even though I’d always thought he was insanely handsome, things didn’t bloom until two years ago. And most of the time since then, he’d been seeing one woman or another. Emma was right that the man never seemed to stay single for long.
“He’s going to be at happy hour this Friday night,” I said. “A few of the crew from CCU are meeting up over at McBride’s. I’m curious to hear what he says about the breakup.”
“Does he know you’re looking for a roommate?”
“I don’t think so.”
“Well, he needs a place to sleep, and you need a roomie.” Emma shrugged. “Timing is everything. Maybe it’s fate and he’ll move in and take care of two of your needs.”
“I think your imagination might be getting ahead of itself. Why don’t we start by seeing if things are really over with him and whatshername? They’ve split up a few times, but he always winds up going back.”
“Okay. But I have a good feeling about you two.”
“Could you possibly have a good feeling about me finding a roommate instead? I just had to pay for another damn ad.”
Emma shook her head. “I can’t believe you didn’t find one decent candidate.”
Remembering my last interview, I said, “Actually there was one who would’ve been perfect—great credit score, neat, cooks, leaves early in the morning, and works long days.”
“So why didn’t you take her?”
“Because she was a he.”
★★★
 
Excited? We are too!
RELEASING APRIL 12th!
PRE-ORDER LINKS
Please note: There will not be an Amazon ebook pre-order, but it will be available on in Kindle Unlimited on Amazon on release day.
Sign up for Vi and Penelope’s mailing list now and be the first one notified when it goes live!
PENELOPE WARD


Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author of contemporary romance. 
She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son, and beautiful daughter with autism.
With over two million books sold, she is a 21-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over twenty novels. Her books have been translated into over a dozen languages and can be found in bookstores around the world.
VI KEELAND
Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author. With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over a hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty-five languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.

Blog Tour, 5 Star Review & Giveaway: The Harder We Fall by Rebecca Raine

We are so excited to be a part of the Blog Your for The Harder We Fall by Rebecca Raine today! I loved this emotional story and am sharing my 5 Star Review, plus we’ve got a great interview with the author, an excerpt and there’s a giveaway! So much awesomeness!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

Book Title: The Harder We Fall

Author: Rebecca Raine

Cover Artist: Bec Rivers

Release Date:  March 29,  2021

Genre: MM Romance

Trope: Hurt/Comfort

Themes: Grief, Penance, Personal Growth

Heat Rating: 4 flames

 Length: 70,000 words

It is a standalone book.

Add on Goodreads

Buy Links – Available in Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US  |   Amazon UK  

 

 

For years, I’ve been bound by sleeplessness and sorrow. His voice threatens to set me free.

Blurb 

 

Insomnia. It’s part of the penance I pay for my greatest mistake. But when an ill-timed doze behind the wheel of my car nearly introduces me to a pole, I know something has to change.

 

Sleep with Me, a locally-made meditation app, promises a cure. I don’t expect it to work. Nor do I expect to become enthralled by the voice of its creator, Sam Stephenson. His ability to coax forth my nightly surrender is unnerving. I have to meet this man and learn the secret behind his techniques, so I can evict him from my head—and still get a good night’s sleep.

 

In person, the quiet and reclusive Sam is his own kind of complicated. He needs my business skills as much as I need his meditation skills and we forge an unlikely partnership. But the attraction between us soon flares into passion and, as we grow closer, I start to long for more than my guilty conscience will allow.

 

I have no right to love, not after the damage I’ve done. How can I give Sam all he deserves, when our chance at a happy ending was ruined before we even met?

Jenn Review

5 Stars

I always love it when a blurb catches my attention and then to book not only delivers but surpasses my expectations and that’s exactly what The Harder We Fall did for me! I absolutely loved this book, it is incredibly emotional and there is an underlying sadness that made my heart ache but the journey that Sam and Tristan go on is so worth it! This is definitely a book you will feel!

 After the tragic death of his younger sister eight years ago, Tristan has not been able to move on. He blames himself and believes he needs to spend this life paying for it, not deserving happiness or love or even friends. He suffers from horrible insomnia and it takes it’s toll on him. Only a near accident has him trying to find a solution and when a co-worker suggests a new meditation app he decides to give it a try. He’s stunned when it actually works and is determined to meet the creator, maybe he’ll be able to help Tristan long term. Sam, the Sleep With Me creator, doesn’t people well, his anxiety takes over and he shuts down. But meeting Tristan, with the promise of help with his business is an offer he can’t turn down. What happens between these two is unexpected and will challenge both men in ways they never imagined. 

These two are something so very special! They bring out the best in each other, they heal each other and ultimately find love, but it’s not an easy journey for either of them. In order to heal and open up, they have to overcome a lot of challenges. The really beautiful part though is finding they can do it together. I loved both Sam and Tristan, my heart hurt for everything they dealt with, especially Tristan and the pain he carries, but my heart soared as they sort through the pain and emotions and truly love. I also loved seeing Tristan with his parents and the healing that happens there. There are very raw, emotional conversations that happen, old wounds ripped open but it’s all part of the healing process for both Sam and Tristan and in the end, just breathtakingly beautiful. This wasn’t always the easiest read but it’s wonderful and one that will stay with me. 

Interview with Rebecca Raine

Tell us a little about yourself and your writing goals.

I live in Brisbane, Australia, which is where my recent books have all been set. The non-writing part of my life is mostly taken up with living out my own happily ever after with my husband and two quirky kids who both fascinate and surprise me daily. When I’m not working, I love reading, listening to music, and visiting with family and friends. More recently, I’ve become curious about gardening. I’ve even managed to keep a few things alive.

Congratulations on your new release. Please tell us a little bit about it. What’s your favorite aspect or part of the story? Do you have a favorite character? Who/Why?

            The Harder We Fall is the story of a man, Tristan, who suffers from chronic insomnia due to guilt associated with an event that happened when he was a teenager. When a friend recommends an app to help him sleep, Tristan becomes enthralled with the voice of the app’s creator, Sam Stephenson. He decides he has to meet this man and learn the secrets behind his techniques. But Sam has problems of his own and, although they quickly realise they can help each other, they both know it will take time and trust to make that happen.

When I started writing the book I used to joke that I asked my muse for a character and she brought me the saddest person she could find and said, “Here you go. Hang out in this guy’s head for a while.” But my favourite aspect of the story is that it is ultimately a book about rediscovering hope for the future. The two heroes, Tristan and Sam, both enter the story feeling irrevocably bound by their circumstances. Tristan is stuck in a time. Sam is stuck in a place. It’s only with each other’s support that they begin to find a way forward in their lives. The Harder We Fall is a reminder that it doesn’t matter how long it’s been since we hit the ground, a single new idea, a new way of looking at the world, a new hand to hold, can give us the strength to get back up and try again.

Are you a planner or a pantser? How much do you know about your story before you start writing? How often does your plan change? Why does this work best for you?

I love to outline. The more detailed the outline the better. Unfortunately, I only get to know the characters better as I write the scenes. So, for me, writing is a little bit of both. I write as much of the outline as I can. Then I start to write scenes. Then I fill in more of the outline. Write some more scenes. Re-work the outline. Re-write the scenes. On and on it goes, until I reach The End.

Do deadlines motivate you or block you? How do you deal with them?

I’m hopeless at deadlines. Because I self-publish, the only person I have to answer to is me and I’m something of a perfectionist. I can tell myself that I’ll write this many words today or this week. But if the scene I’m writing isn’t working yet, I’ll happily ignore the deadline and spend three days getting the scene exactly the way I want it. This is why I’m so slow at publishing! But I’m working on getting faster.

Do you schedule a certain amount of time for writing each day/week, or do you just work it in when you can? Would you like to change this, or does your current method work well for you?

Writing is my day job so I’m lucky enough to get to structure my days. I’ll generally write in the mornings, usually for 4-5 hours. Then in the afternoons I tackle the business side of being a writer, such as marketing, publishing tasks, and admin. That’s also when I get to hang out on social media for a while and chat with readers and other writers.

How do you develop a story idea? Do you always use the same method? Specifically, which do you develop first in your story building, the characters or the plot?

First, I spend some time fleshing out whatever sparked the idea for the book in the first place. It could be an image, a line of dialogue, a problem that needs a solution, anything really. Then I’ll think about what ideas or themes I want to explore with the book. What is the point of the story? After that, I’ll dive straight into the characters. Who are they, what do they believe, what do they want, what do they fear? All of the whats have to be backed up by whys.  I’m generally looking for ways to link the characters back to the theme. With any luck, the plot emerges from the character work. The characters know what they want. The plot tries to stop them from getting it. How do they react? That’s the story.

Does writing energize or exhaust you?

            For me, writing is really hard work. The best writing comes when I’m completely focused, and the rest of the world falls away. Getting to that point is challenging and staying there is precarious. If I’ve had a great writing day, I’m happy but exhausted by the end of it.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Worry less. Write more.

What is the best money you ever spent as an author?

            Getting promotional companies to manage Advance Reader Copies for me. I used to really struggle to get my books into the hands of readers and getting reviews felt impossible. Handing that problem over to people who know what they’re doing was a total game-changer for me.

How do you select the names of your characters?

I’ve got all sorts of weird stories when it comes to how my characters got their names. Jeremy walked into my head and introduced himself (Everything We Need and All the Broken Pieces).  Logan yelled at Patrick to get his attention, giving me his name in the process (The Experiment). Sometimes, I’ll lift names from whatever TV Show I happen to be watching at the time (Logan ended up with his name because I was re-watching Veronica Mars when I started the book and I adored Veronica and Logan).

Tristan’s name was different. I picked it because it meant ‘full of sorrow.’ Everything about Tristan’s character initially came from a place of sadness and I wanted his name to reflect that.

What were your goals for this book? Did you achieve them?

It sounds weird, but from the moment my muse brought me Tristan, all I wanted was to find a way for him to forgive himself for what had happened in his past and be happy again – and to be okay with being happy. I knew that work would have to be done on the inside, even though Sam would be helping him from the outside. Figuring out how to lead Tristan to a place of forgiveness helped me say everything I wanted to say with this book.

What do you think about when you’re alone in your car?

This is terrible but, for me, being alone in my car equals work time. If I’m driving, I’m listening to my book soundtrack and thinking about my characters. If I’m parked and waiting for my kids, I’m either engaging on social media or scrawling story ideas in dodgy notebooks.

What were you like in high school?

I was a total bookworm. My mum introduced me to romance novels when I was 16 and from then on, I read every chance I got. It didn’t occur to me to write anything until much later.

The only other thing I was truly interested in when I was in high school was singing. I was in every choir and sang constantly. I still love to sing, but I don’t do it as often as I would like.

Excerpt

“We’re running out of time.”

“So, we are,” I say with a false show of surprise. “It’s my fault, of course.” I pause, trying to figure out how to word the next part without making it obvious this was part of my plan all along. “I could always email you the questions. Then you can take as long as you like to answer them. After you send them back, I’ll write up a plan and we can meet again to discuss it.”

He looks aghast at the idea. “That’s a lot of work. I don’t want to take up too much of your time.”

“Actually, Sam, I’m the one asking for more of your time.” I brandish my most charming smile. It’s worked on men in the past, though I’m not usually trying this hard for the win. Desperation may have knocked the polish off.

Sam’s mouth drops open and somehow he manages to look panicked and thrilled at the same time. “You want to see me again?” he asks. “For the quid pro quo, I mean.”

“If you don’t mind.” I try to look calm, but my pulse is roaring like an express train. If he says no, I’m screwed. “I know this is all a bit odd, me coming to you the way I have. I suppose I hoped, once we met, you might be willing to give this whole process some more time.”

He shifts in his chair again, his gaze dropping. There’s no sign of his earlier trepidation, though, only a subtle wariness. “This was never going to be one hour, was it?”

“Not really, no,” I say, surprised at my honesty. “Not if we’re both going to get what we want from this.”

I can feel his attention all over me, even with his gaze glued to the table. “What exactly do you want from me, Tristan?”

It’s the voice. Right there in front of me. Coming from his mouth. Holy fuck.

Hearing that voice say my name, after all the ways I’ve used and abused his—in curses and moans and whispered pleas—is a goddamned fantasy come to life. Lust surges through my veins and I want to growl in frustration. This infatuation has to end. “I need to stop sleeping with you.”

His head snaps upright and we both gasp.

My right hand slaps over my mouth. “Fuck, I didn’t mean it like that.”

Looking away again, he releases a shaky breath. “It’s all right.” He runs absent hands along his arms, soothing a severe case of goosebumps. Sam is responding to my voice, my words, the same way I inevitably respond to his.

How would we respond to each other’s touch? Stifling a groan, I shift clenched fists into my lap. That’s not what this is about. I’m obsessed enough without learning the texture of his skin and the taste of his—

Sam starts to laugh, really laugh. “That stupid name,” he manages to say between breaths. “Sleep with Me. It wasn’t even my idea, but it certainly does get a reaction.” There’s another peel of laughter, as if he’s releasing all the tension from his body, and I find myself joining in. Every time we look at each other it gets worse and before I know it my stomach is sore from laughing. It feels good to laugh at myself. Weird, but good.

“Let me rephrase,” I say as we start to regain our composure. “What I mean is, now you’ve succeeded in getting me to sleep, I want to figure out how to do it on my own.”

“Should be easy enough. It’s probably something in the phrasing.”

Reality seeps back in, killing off the last of my amusement. “No, it’s something else.” Sam isn’t the first person to tell me to let go of my guilt. My mother used to say it constantly. It wasn’t your fault, Tristan. You shouldn’t blame yourself.She didn’t believe her words any more than I did, but she tried. “I don’t know what it is about you that’s different. I don’t think it’s necessarily something you can teach me, but whatever it is, I need to figure it out.”

“So, what’s the plan?” he asks with a baffled expression. “Are you going to hang around me until you get your answer through osmosis or something?”

“Maybe? I don’t know.” I drop my head into my hands. “Honestly, I’m making this up as I go along.”

“You and me both,” he says with a snort. “I don’t know if I can give you the answer you’re looking for, Tristan. But I’ll try.”

Slumping back in my chair, I release a sigh. “Thank you, Sam.”

He smiles that tiny smile and I try not to drool when his cheeks turn pink. “It’s my pleasure.”

About the Author 

Rebecca is a long-time lover of all things romance. Whether it’s a book, movie, or real life, she will always have more fun if there’s a love interest thrown into the mix. She lives in Queensland, Australia with her very own hero husband, two quirky kids and one big, black dog. Other than reading and writing books, her favourite things include loud music, enjoying a glass of wine on the patio, organising everything in existence, and spending too much time on the Internet.

Sign up for Rebecca’s newsletter and receive

a FREE copy of All the Broken Pieces

Social Media Links

Blog/Website  |    Facebook   |   Facebook Author Page

Pinterest  |  Instagram  |    BookBub   |  Goodreads

Giveaway

Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway for a chance to win

one of five ebook copies of The Harder We Fall

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by Gay Book Promotions

Follow the tour and check out the other blog posts and reviews here

Release Blitz & Excerpt: Nothing Special: SWAT Ed.: Fox & Bull by AE Via

Happy Friday! Today we are excited to share the Release Blitz for Nothing Special: SWAT Ed.: Fox & Bull by AE Via! This Series is a favorite of mine and I’m so excited about Fox and Bull! We’ve also got a great excerpt to share!

Nothing Special: SWAT Ed.: Fox & Bull

AE Via

M/M Romance

Release Date: 03.24.21

Cover Artist ~ Jay Aheer, Simply Defined Art

Photographer ~ Wander Aguiar Photography

𝐁𝐋𝐔𝐑𝐁

𝘼 𝙛𝙤𝙭 𝙘𝙖𝙣 𝙨𝙚𝙩 𝙢𝙖𝙣𝙮 𝙩𝙧𝙖𝙥𝙨 𝙩𝙤 𝙘𝙖𝙩𝙘𝙝 𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙩𝙖𝙧𝙜𝙚𝙩—𝙗𝙪𝙩 𝙩𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙤𝙣𝙡𝙮 𝙣𝙚𝙚𝙙𝙨 𝙤𝙣𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙘𝙖𝙩𝙘𝙝 𝙝𝙞𝙨.

Dominic “Bull” Walker is used to the simpler things in life. Give him his own land to work, a strong horse, and twelve hours of daylight, and he is a contented man. But when someone threatens to take away the successful ranch that took him two years to rebuild, he’ll accept any help he can get to defend it.

Mandel “Fox” Tucker is a sixth-generation SWAT soldier. It’s embedded in his bones to protect and serve his community. So when he gets word of the vandalism occurring on the Walker Ranch, he quickly volunteers the free time he has, thanks to his recent suspension.

The brief visit Fox had with Bull four months ago had been a contentious—but powerful—encounter. Therefore, he’s not surprised when he shows up on his doorstep unannounced and has to pull out some of his best tricks to get past the six-foot-four, stubborn Texan.

Fox is only there to safeguard what’s most important to Bull. But being on the ranch brings an awareness to him that he embraces with both hands. Nature, peace… love—things he never found in the city.

𝑇ℎ𝑖𝑠 𝑏𝑜𝑜𝑘 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑡𝑎𝑖𝑛𝑠 𝑡ℎ𝑒 𝑙𝑜𝑣𝑒 𝑠𝑡𝑜𝑟𝑦 𝑜𝑓 𝑡𝑤𝑜 𝑛𝑒𝑤 𝑐ℎ𝑎𝑟𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑒𝑟𝑠. 𝐼𝑡 𝑖𝑠 𝑎 𝑝𝑎𝑟𝑡 𝑜𝑓 𝑎 𝑠𝑒𝑟𝑖𝑒𝑠 𝑏𝑢𝑡 𝑐𝑎𝑛 𝑏𝑒 𝑟𝑒𝑎𝑑 𝑎𝑠 𝑎 𝑠𝑡𝑎𝑛𝑑𝑎𝑙𝑜𝑛𝑒.

𝑇ℎ𝑒𝑟𝑒 𝑎𝑟𝑒 𝑛𝑜 𝑚𝑢𝑙𝑡𝑖𝑝𝑙𝑒 𝑝𝑎𝑖𝑟𝑖𝑛𝑔𝑠 𝑜𝑟 𝑠ℎ𝑎𝑟𝑖𝑛𝑔. 𝐸𝑛𝑑𝑠 𝑖𝑛 𝑎 𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑦 𝐻𝐸𝐴

Amazon US – https://amzn.to/2ZO6ac1

Amazon UK – https://amzn.to/3pSYkZe

Smashwords – https://bit.ly/3qUnKXy

Excerpt

“Hi” was all he could manage to sigh. His heart beat fast as Diablo made a nickering sound and nudged in a bit more until his eye was almost level with his. “You’re so big. What kind of horse are you?” “He’s an Arabian gelding.” Bull’s voice came from behind him, and Fox hadn’t noticed someone had crept up on him. Maybe if it’d been someone dangerous or someone he didn’t like, Diablo probably would’ve reacted the same way he had this afternoon. “He seems to like you,” Fox whispered to Bull as he leaned against his back and ran his steady hand up Diablo’s forehead. “It was a while before he let me touch him. A lot longer than it took you. He likes you too… very much.” Bull’s lips danced against his temple as he spoke. His melodic voice calmed Fox’s racing heart so much that he leaned back into Bull’s firm chest. “How do you know he likes me?” Fox breathed. Bull slid his other hand that wasn’t petting Diablo up Fox’s stomach, causing the muscles to quiver until he got to his right pec. “Because you feel it right here… don’t you?” Fox swallowed. “He’s feeling that way too,” Bull whispered. “That noise he was making… he hasn’t made that sound with me. It means he likes how you were touching him.” Fox smiled from the inside out. “I want to ride him.” Bull chuckled. “So do I. But that’ll be up to Diablo. He was an endurance racer for a few years, even won a few ribbons. But when he stopped placing in competitions at all, he got sold and ended up with a pretty nasty owner. It’s gonna take a little while for him to trust anyone again.” Bull kissed Fox lightly on the back of the head. “Though you’re doing a good job. Even I haven’t been able to touch him like this. I think it’s because you’re here and the way you’re reacting to me.” “Wow. They can sense all that?” “Most definitely.” “I know I can ride him.” “Well, right now he won’t even let me put a blanket on him, much less a saddle,” Bull said almost sadly. Fox stared into Diablo’s eyes, feeling something shifting inside his soul. “Maybe I can.”

A.E. Via has been a best-selling author in the beautiful gay romance genre for six years now, but she’s no stranger to MM. She’s been an avid reader of gay literature for over twenty years before she picked up her laptop to place her own kiss on this genre. She’s also the founder and owner of Via Star Wings Books, having published a couple great, new up and coming MM authors.

A.E. has a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice from Virginia Wesleyan College that she used to start her own paralegal firm after she graduated in 2008. She spent five years preparing and filing bankruptcy petitions for struggling blue collar workers who couldn’t afford to file with a lawyer. It was a rewarding and satisfying career… but another path called to her.

Writing.

A.E.’s novels embodies everything from hopelessly romantic to adventure, to scandalous. Her stories often include intriguing edges and twists that take readers to new, thought-provoking depths.

She’s recently celebrated her 20th book anniversary, and is well-known for her hardcore, love hard, bad boy, alphas. However, she does like to push herself to step out of her comfort zone, exploring different tropes. She’s head over heels for gay romance and she has tons of more hot stories to tell.

Be sure to visit Adrienne on her social media pages and subscribe to her newsletter to never miss another release date! Go to A.E. Via’s official website http://authoraevia.com  for more detailed information on how to contact her, follow her, or a sneak peek at upcoming work, free reads, VSWB submissions, and where she’ll appear next.

Author Official Website: http://authoraevia.com

A.E. Newsletter Signuphttps://goo.gl/4hfuMh

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/aeviaauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorAEVia

Release Blitz & Giveaway: Kill Me Tomorrow by Britney King

We are excited to share the Release Blitz for Kill Me Tomorrow by Britney King today! This is my next read and I’m definitely looking forward to it! Make sure to check out the great excerpt and giveaway!
Happy Reading!
Title: Kill Me Tomorrow
Author: Britney King
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Release Date: April 1, 2021
 
From the bestselling author of The Social Affair and HER comes a mind-bending thriller that’s soaked with raw sensuality, as an investigator’s search takes a wicked turn when he meets a beautiful and provocative woman.
Ali is a sex therapist-slash-guru, famous for the work she does helping others find pleasure.
The problem: Ali can never quite find it for herself.
Her life’s work makes nothing taboo, nothing off limits. And she’s tried everything short of murder. Although, with the way things are going, it’s not off the table.
When Ethan Lane is hired to investigate the death of a wealthy bachelor, he isn’t expecting to stumble into a string of murders. The victims are men, and all members of a popular dating app. Operating undercover with a profile of his own, he meets the woman of his dreams—who also happens to be his best suspect.
The question: Can Lane stay alive long enough to prove his theory? And does he want to?
Hello. I’m Britney.

I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, children, a dog named Gatsby, one ridiculous cat, and a partridge in a pear tree.

When I’m not wrangling the things mentioned above, I write psychological, domestic, and romantic thrillers set in suburbia.


Currently, I’m writing three series and several standalone novels.

The Bedrock Series features an unlikely heroine who should have known better. Turns out, she didn’t. Thus she finds herself tangled in a messy, dangerous, forbidden love story and face-to-face with a madman hell-bent on revenge. The series has been compared to Fatal Attraction, Single White Female, and Basic Instinct.

The Water Series follows the shady love story of an unconventional married couple—he’s an assassin—she kills for fun. It has been compared to a crazier book version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Also, Dexter.

Around The Bend is a heart-pounding standalone, which traces the journey of a well-to-do suburban housewife, and her life as it unravels, thanks to the secrets she keeps. If she were the only one with things she wanted to keep hidden, then maybe it wouldn’t have turned out so bad. But she wasn’t.

The With You Series at its core is a deep love story about unlikely friends who travel the world; trying to find themselves, together and apart. Packed with drama and adventure along with a heavy dose of suspense, it has been compared to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Love, Rosie.

The Social Affair
 is an intense standalone about a timeless couple who find themselves with a secret admirer they hadn’t bargained for. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, the novel explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience.

It is reminiscent of films such as One Hour Photo and Play Misty For Me. Classics. Without a doubt, connecting with readers is the best part of this gig. If you’d like to connect, shoot me an email. You can also find me on FacebookInstagram, and occasionally on Twitter.

HOSTED BY:

New Release Review: AFTERMATH by L.A. Witt

We are excited to share another new installment in the Vino & Veritas series! I loved Jon and Brent, they are so sweet and I hope you’ll check out my review and these great books!

Happy Reading!

5_V&V_Witt_ebook_FINAL.jpg

AFTERMATH BY L.A. WITT

Release Date: March 29, 2021
Pre-Order here: https://geni.us/AmazonAftermath
Add to Goodreads here: https://bit.ly/2LZajWM
Share this page: https://hearteyespress.com/wotn#/vino-and-veritas/
Cover Design: Christine Coffey

Blurb:

Brent Weyland was the life of the party until an injury ended his hockey career. Now he’s retreated alone to a lakefront house, trying to make sense of a life and body that don’t feel like his anymore.

Jon Norquist was happily married right up until he wasn’t. Now a single father in his forties, he’s trying to figure out what comes next. In the meantime, he pours his heartache and regret into the lyrics he sings for the wine bar crowd a couple of nights a week.

When a friend coaxes Brent out for a night of wine and music, he puts Brent and Jon on a collision course. Their chemistry is instantaneous. Jon gives Brent’s battered body a much-needed remedial lesson in pleasure. And Brent gives Jon a reason to smile again.

Multiple reasons, actually. Neither man wants anything serious, but love has a habit of showing up whether it’s welcome or not. No matter how hard they try, the two can’t help having feelings for each other, even as life continues to throw them curveballs.

But they’ve both got baggage to unpack and hurt to move past, and if they can’t leave their pasts in the past, they might just miss out on an amazing future.

AFtermath Teaser 2.png

Jenn Review

4 – 4.5 Stars

The Vino & Veritas series continues to deliver absolutely fantastic reads! I really loved Aftermath, the characters and what this story addresses. This is a unique story of healing and acceptance and ultimately love. Brent and Jon are so wonderful together and while completely unexpected so very perfect for each other.

Brent is 29, a professional hockey play who recently survived an awful car crash that led to major injuries including a hip replacement. He finds himself without a career and without much direction in life. Jon is a recently divorced, 41 year old with a ten year old son he’s trying to raise with a somewhat difficult ex wife. The two men really don’t have anything in common but a chance meeting at the open mic night at the wine bar opens them both up to a journey they never expected.

The two men share a great connection, they have great chemistry and what is supposed to be a fun hook up goes sideways pretty quick when Brent’s battered body doesn’t seem to be on board. What starts though is a wonderful friendship, a tentative relationship where these two really start opening up to each other and letting their walls down. It’s funny because throughout the book they refer to being ‘hookup buddies’ but it’s actually rarely what happens between them. Brent struggles with the after effects of his injuries and surgeries and often times isn’t able to fully engage in sex. That really is how these two build their relationship though, by enjoying what they do have between them and growing that. There are a lot of insecurities between them both though and definitely complicates things at times. Brent also feels a great amount of pressure from his father to ‘man up’ and get back to hockey – yeah so not possible for him.

It’s really about how these two build each other up, support each other and ultimately love each other. It’s not always easy, they certainly have issues they need to work through, some moments just broke my heart to pieces, but both Brent and Jon do come to find that they can work through it all together. This book is filled with wonderful moments that will definitely make you laugh and smile, some are raw and hurt the heart and overall, a touching story that I really enjoyed.

AFtermath Teaser 3.png

Excerpt

If there was one thing I was good at when I performed onstage, it was engaging my audience without being distracted by them. The lighting here at Vino and Veritas didn’t mask the crowd in shadows like bigger venues did—no blinding stage lights in my eyes obscuring the people beyond them—which meant I could make out a lot of faces. And there was usually a fair amount of activity, too. People came and went. Waiters brought out drinks and food. Bartenders poured drinks. Quiet conversations went on. Some loud ones, especially as more alcohol flowed.

I was used to it, and I was never distracted by it. The sea of motion and faces was easy to ignore.

Except for that guy’s face.

One glance at him, and thank God I’d been between songs, or I’d have forgotten what I was doing.

And it didn’t help at all that he’d been looking right back at me as if I’d caught his eye the way he’d caught mine. Not just like people casually watched a performer onstage, but like something I’d done had made him stop dead and stare. He was still, his eyes wide and his lips parted as he stared at me. I couldn’t tell if it was a trick of the lights, but I swore he blushed too.

As I played on, I kept my gaze down, or at least tried to only let it drift toward the side of the room where he wasn’t sitting. Otherwise I was going to go blank on every note and every lyric.

But then I was far enough into the music that I forgot, and I glanced in that direction again, and there he was, still looking right at me, and—

What song is this?

I only missed a beat or two, fortunately, and I recovered quickly. I doubted many people noticed, if any of them did. In a venue like this, a lot of people were only half-listening, as opposed to during an actual concert when they were all focused on me. I was background noise for most, even those who applauded between songs. Just as well when I was this distracted.

By some miracle, I made it through my set, and people didn’t mutter things like, “Oh my God, finally,” or “One more and I was going to stab my own eardrums” as I left the stage. Given that this hadn’t been my best or most focused performance, I’d take it.

In the back room where overflow books and promo items from the bookstore were kept, I put my guitar in its case and downed the rest of my water bottle. That had been, hands down, the hardest set I’d done since I’d started singing here. The first few had been tough because the emotions had been a lot more raw—because I’d been real smart, singing what I’d just written about my painful divorce-in-progress—so it had been rough for a while. But even during that period, I’d never actually struggled like I had tonight to remember lyrics and chords, or to keep my fingers from slipping or my tongue from getting tied. 

And now I needed a drink. Not just water this time, either. 

So, I left my guitar and jacket in the back where they were safe, and then headed up to the bar for a glass of wine. Only one, since I was driving. I’d probably have a couple more when I got home. Maybe not the healthiest thing in the world, but I’d been in a shitty place all day, and singing about my divorce poured some salt in wounds that hadn’t closed yet. I wasn’t apologizing for numbing that with a little alcohol once in a while. 

“The usual?” Rainn asked over the bar.

I shook my head. “Glass of pinot blanc.”

Our eyes met. Then Rainn nodded and stepped away to get the wine. He knew me and what I’d been through the last several months, so he didn’t question me. He just didn’t need to know that my ex-wife wasn’t the one screwing with my concentration tonight. 

He handed me the glass, and I thanked him before taking a sip. I wasn’t much of a drinker, but I had to say, I loved the wine they poured in this place. One of these days, I’d buy a bottle or two to keep at home. Maybe after I finished redoing the kitchen and had a place to put a wine rack.

That was another depressing thought that didn’t need to take hold tonight, so I focused on enjoying the amazing wine while I wound down after my set. My son was at his mom’s tonight, so I didn’t need to rush out of here to pick him up from the babysitter. I preferred the evenings where he was with me, but when he wasn’t, I couldn’t complain about relaxing here for a little while.

Someone stepped up to the bar beside me, and as I moved aside to give them some room, I glanced up and—

Oh. God.

Him.

aftermath AN.png

RELEASE BLITZ: Swimming in Sparkles by Debra Anastasia

Teddi Burathon is the perfect shield. And I’ll use her as a pretty distraction so no one sees me coming.

Swimming in Sparkles, an all-new beautiful and emotional modern day Robin Hood, New Adult romance from Debra Anastasia is available now!

My name is Ruffian. To remember my mom, I want to change the world.

I’m going to do things wrong to make things right. That’s okay, because I’m going to jail. I know it. I’ve planned for it. I was always going to end up there.

For now, I need a cover story. A cover family. A way to hide from the suspicion that always finds me.

Teddi Burathon is the perfect shield. Popular, friendly, sassy. Good. She’s everything I’m not. And I’ll use her as a pretty distraction so no one sees me coming.

My heart is dead and I’m a bomb waiting to detonate. Most people want to build a future.

Me?

I’m going to rob a bank.

Download your copy today, or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited! Amazon:https://amzn.to/3rtTPVL Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/sisda Amazon Print: http://mybook.to/sisprint Add SWIMMING IN SPARKLES to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/37P0liP

Meet Debra

Debra creates pretend people in her head and paints them on the giant, beautiful canvas of your imagination. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in political science and writes new adult angst and romantic comedies. She lives in Maryland with her husband and two amazing children.

Connect with Debra Facebook: https://bit.ly/39Pypep Reader Group: https://bit.ly/31ea3Hd Newsletter: https://bit.ly/NewsletterDebra2020 Twitter: https://bit.ly/2XiD8QK Instagram: https://bit.ly/39MXC9g Pinterest: https://bit.ly/3icmYRd Amazon: http://amzn.to/2vVuo45 Bookbub: https://bit.ly/3fmQIZx Website: https://bit.ly/2BQLBDg

Blog Tour & Review: Tour of Taste of Fear by Davidson King

Taste Of Fear

Joker’s Sin book 4

Davidson King 

MM Romance/Action/Suspense/Close Proximity

Release Date: 03.08.21

Blurb

Ciro Navarro has never had it easy, but he learned to survive. Nightmares of a past he cannot erase plague him but thankfully, much of his horrible life is in the rearview mirror. He lives in the present, focusing on his found family, lifelong friends, and the job that fulfills him. Ciro’s circle is small but tight; if you’re in it, you are his world. And somehow he’s become a rescuer—at the slightest hint someone he cares about is in trouble, he comes running.

After years of hard work and patience, Xander has fulfilled his goal and made a name for himself as a world-renowned chef. He lives his dream every day: cooking up and serving recipes that bring people joy. Though he has restaurants in several locations, it’s Haven Hart Xander calls home, and he can’t imagine settling anywhere else. Life is good. In fact, everything in Xander’s life is perfect…until people from his past start turning up dead.

When word of a serial killer hell-bent on ending Xander comes to light, Ciro’s instincts kick in and he vows to keep Xander, the sweet and humble man he finds himself gravitating toward, alive. The seriousness of what is happening rattles Xander, and he allows Ciro into his home to protect him. Close proximity heats things up and shows Ciro and Xander how much they’ve come to mean to each other, but the precautions they’ve taken may not be enough to keep them safe.

When the unthinkable happens, they are put to the test. Can Xander and Ciro survive the crazed serial killer who stands in the way of their forever?

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/mgg9Bv

Jenn Review

4 – 4.5 Stars

I was excited to see Ciro’s book in this series and I have to say that Davidson King did not disappoint! I loved this book and these characters and getting to know the mysterious Ciro made me so very happy! I also really loved Xander and thought he was the perfect match for Ciro! Their journey is filled with so much emotion and ultimately love.

Xander is a popular, well known chef, he loves his restaurant in Haven Hart, it’s his life. He learns about the death of a friend, another chef he knew in college, one of four that all lived in the same off campus house. While at the funeral he learns that another of their roommates had also been murdered, and it wasn’t a coincidence, both chefs were tortured and murdered. Now, it is feared that the killer will come after Xander and their other former roommate Foster. It is recommended that Xander be under protection for the time being.

Ciro is the mysterious bouncer at Joker’s Sin, he’s lived a hard life but finds himself wanting to protect people, so when he sees Atlas talking to a clearly shaken up Xander he naturally steps in to help. His initial plan is to set up Xander with protection, but when his go-to is busy Xander steps in to keep Xander safe himself.

I really loved these two together, they have great chemistry, it’s definitely hot, but what I really loved was the emotional connection they shared. These are two very different people who have lived very different lives, but together they share something deep and special, it’s like a natural understanding and acceptance. They are just so perfect for each other. I also loved the mystery side of this book. There is a serial killer after a group of chefs, and it was fun as this group figured out the who and the why. A perfect combination of romance and mystery, I loved the rough edges and soft romance, it really captured my attention from start to finish. I highly recommend this book and this series, deep and imperfect characters finding happiness and love!

Excerpt

I found myself wondering what he’d order as we walked up to the counter. What did a chef get at other food establishments? What kind of coffee? When the woman asked what we’d like, I gestured for him to go first. “Hmm, maybe just a black coffee, medium, please.” Black coffee? “You’re a monster,” I said, and he looked over at me with wide eyes. “Pardon?” “Black coffee? That’s not right, not at all.” He chuckled. “And what is right?” “I will have a hazelnut coffee, with hazelnut swirl, and cinnamon, large, please.” I quirked a brow at him after I ordered. “No. Not even a little of that is right. All sugar.” He moved down to the pickup area and I followed. “You’re a chef, you’re supposed to order things like truffle coffee with gold flecks of vanilla sprinkles or something.” He laughed so loudly, the few people who were in the place turned toward us. “That’s such a stereotype.” He took his coffee when the woman handed it to him. “But…black? It’s tasteless sad water.” He shook his head, brought the cup to his lips, and sipped. “Mmm.” Oh, shit. My mind was off coffee and on to how I liked the way he hummed. “So good,” he said with a smile. “No. I like my coffee happy.” I took my cup, dropped a tip for the barista on the counter, and moved toward the far booth. I sat, my back facing the wall so I could see all the comings and goings. Xander sat across from me. “I remember about a month ago, Max, who works at Joker’s Sin with you, came into the restaurant to pick up an order. He was going through the carryout bag, and I asked him what he was looking for. He said he had to make sure the hollandaise sauce was in there, or ‘he’ would be upset.” Oh, fuck… “Well, Max is weird, so.” I drank my coffee, hoping the conversation would drop. “Are you the ‘he,’ Ciro?” He was enjoying this. “How’s your sad coffee, Xander?” He took another sip and smiled softly. We sat in companionable silence for a few minutes. I wanted to bring up what was going on, to ask what was so bad in his life that he had the HHPD as bodyguards, but he was so at ease, and I didn’t want the scared man I’d seen earlier to return. “Go ahead and ask.” Xander looked at me, worry marring his beautiful face. I took a deep breath and asked, “Who wants to hurt you, and why?”

Davidson King, always had a hope that someday her daydreams would become real-life stories. As a child, you would often find her in her own world, thinking up the most insane situations. It may have taken her awhile, but she made her dream come true with her first published work, Snow Falling. She managed to wrangle herself a husband who matched her crazy and they hatched three wonderful children. If you were to ask her what gave her the courage to finally publish, she’d tell you it was her amazing family and friends. Support is vital in all things and when you’re afraid of your dreams, it will be your cheering section that will lift you up.

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/davidsonkingauthor

New Release Review: HEARTSCAPE by Garrett Leigh

I’m excited to share my 5 Star Review of HEARTSCAPE by Garrett Leigh today! This series is just great and I totally swooned over Jax and Tanner!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

Heartscape Final.jpg

HEARTSCAPE BY GARRETT LEIGH

Release Date: March 22, 2021
Purchase here: https://geni.us/AmazonHeartscape
Add to Goodreads here: https://bit.ly/3roFo6y
Vino & Veritas Series Page: https://hearteyespress.com/wotn#/vino-and-veritas/
Cover Design: Christine Coffey

Blurb:

From award-winning author Garrett Leigh comes a gorgeous new romance in the True North world! Think: great food, burly men and good times. Beards are optional but encouraged.

I’m not the obvious choice to run Burlington’s coolest wine bar—quiet, brooding, clueless about tannin content, and always one wrong turn away from another downward spiral.

But no one seems to mind that I’m a wreck. Besides me. I just focus on getting through each shift until the night a beautiful stranger appears, looking as lost and damaged as I feel.

When a mutual friend calls in a favor, the sexy newcomer winds up crashing on my couch. I don’t know if it’s his melodic Cornish accent, or his ocean blue eyes, or the rock-hard body with the mysterious scars, but I get the feeling whatever happened to him runs far deeper than those wounds.

Having Jax in my home makes my chest warm. Makes me shiver. Makes me want more. But I’ve got a pile of baggage and I don’t want to be a burden on anyone let alone a man who seems to have enough demons of his own.

Our chemistry is off the charts. His arms feel like home. The last thing I want is to screw this up. Is it wrong to hope we can heal each other? Or will one of us die trying?

HEARTSCAPE is a heartfelt MM friends-to-lovers romance in the True North world, with a brooding bartender, a rugged outdoorsman, sweet angst and lots of Shipley cider. Triggers: contains mentions of depression, suicidal ideation and PTSD recovery.

Heartscape LIVE.png

Jenn Review

5 Stars

There is one word to best describe this book for me – SWOON! Oh my goodness, I absolutely loved this book and it gave me all the feels! I know when I pick up a book from Garrett Leigh it’s going to be an emotional journey, and this one was but it was also a bit different, a bit softer, lots of emotion but a little less angst I’d say.

Both Jax and Tanner have suffered some intense traumas in their lives and are trying to continue on with life. It’s a chance meeting for these two, brought together by an accident and an unexpected mutual friend, but there’s an immediate connection between them. Tanner ends up offering Jax a place to stay after a fire destroys the place he had been staying. A friendship starts to build between them as does a serious attraction. As these two get to know each other and open up to each other they find more than just a physical attraction, they find happiness and peace together.

I really loved these two together, they were just imperfect perfection! They understand each other and right from the start seem to know what the other needs, and it feels very intimate reading this, feeling that connection. There are incredible highs and lows for these guys and I felt every one of them. There’s a lot of baggage between Jax and Tanner but it’s told in a beautiful and emotional story of healing and finding love. This was just a fantastic read that has a forever place in my heart!

Heartscape teaser 1.png