Jenn’s Review: Razorblade Kisses by RL Griffin

Today we are so happy to bring you Jenn’s Review of the upcoming release (slated for a January release) from RL Griffin, Razorblade Kisses!! To say this book was an emotional read for Jenn is an understatement, I know for a fact that she is dying for either Wendy or myself to read it too because she sooo wants to discuss it! And trust me after reading her review, I so can’t wait! This books sounds so deeply emotional that I know I MUST read it! So I hope that you enjoy Jenn’s thoughts and go add it to your Goodreads list today! As always I wish you all Happy Reading and Happy Holidays!!

Oh and we have an added goodie for you all!! Go like the post for this blog entry on our Facebook page and comment “I added it to my Goodreads List!” and be entered for a chance to win an ARC of Razorblade Kisses!!

~ Amber

razors

Synopsis:

Her name is Emery Shaw…Emily Sanders…Emma Simpson…Ericka Smith.
Her family was well off, she ran.
They looked for her, she hid.
They found her, she ran again.
Tragedy strikes, she gets even.

The fact is, she doesn’t know who she is, she tried to run, to hide and make a life for herself, but that backfired. No one knows her except her best friend Rachel, if that’s even an adequate word for what they are to each other. Rachel helps her build a life for herself below the radar, which is fine until the unthinkable happens knocking Em out of her unfeeling cocoon. When her house of cards comes tumbling down she runs again, until the one person who can change her mind finds her.

Due to adult situations, language and possible scenarios that may be difficult for some readers to handle, take a breath before you start this one. It’s gritty and not pretty. Nothing is pretty here. Whiskey is a good thing.

Jenn’s 5 Star Review:

5++++stars

I feel like I have to start by saying that giving this book stars doesn’t do it justice. Razorblade Kisses was a true journey and experience.

Without a doubt this is one of the most powerful, amazing books I’ve read! I did not just read this book, I felt it. R.L. Griffin managed to break my heart and give me hope in the same sentence.

Emery Shaw is a girl living a nightmare without an escape, until she meets Rachel and finds a best friend and savior. She is able to escape but that is definitely not the end of the story, in fact just the beginning. Em now has to learn what it means to survive and more-so, believe she survived and find the hope that she deserves to live and to be happy.

This is a book unlike others I’ve read. It made me feel things so deep I felt them to my core. There were times when I got angry and sad that I felt like I was being ripped apart. Sometimes in life there are things we experience that we don’t want to remember but can’t forget. Emery is a walking example of what it feels like to have those things.

While there is darkness in this story there is also light and beautiful hope. Emery proves that even when we are damaged or broken, when we make all the wrong decisions there is still hope and love. It may not come easy but survival comes with hope, love and forgiveness.

I don’t want to give anything away by going into the plot, it’s too important to ruin. The story is deep and sometimes dark but there is also hope and stunning strength and the characters R.L. Griffin has created are perfection. Between Rachel, Noah and Tim we find some true heroes to love and love and love!

Read this book! It may not be the easiest, flowery –love story book, but it’s real. Razorblade Kisses is powerful, raw and yes beautiful. This book touched my heart so deeply that I’ve struggled to find the right words to describe it at times, but it in the end it filled me with such hope that it is now one of my all-time favorite books. . Finding that light in darkness isn’t always easy, but when you do there is such beauty to be found, and that is Razorblade Kisses.

R.L. Griffin is a truly amazing author and I’ve loved everything I’ve read by her, her books staying with me and her characters feeling like my friends. Razorblade Kisses is her most amazing work yet and I can’t wait to read more from this amazing woman.

Jenn interviews R.L Griffin

1. Razorblade Kisses is very different from the By A Thread series, what was it like writing something so different?
You know my writing is so organic, the writing wasn’t that hard, I let the characters speak to me and the story comes out. However, I know the BaT characters so well that this book was a harder experience with brand new characters. I miss the BaT crew, I feel like they’re family. Also, this story has a very difficult subject matter so it was harder to live with for months. I have to say I’ve never been so nervous to release a book. Living in Emery’s world was a really emotional place to be, I had a hard time living there and I took long breaks before I would get back into writing it. 
2. What was the inspiration for Razorblade Kisses?
I have no clue. I had this thought about a girl watching a ceremony from afar while I was writing Heart In Wire. It sort of spiraled from there. 

3. Emery deals with a lot of pain, and as a reader I felt that pain myself, what was that like to write?
Painful. Hahahahaha. It really was the hardest book I’ve written. It was hard to re-read. I get sucked in when I start to read it and then my heart gets broken again. 
4. What was your favorite thing about writing this book?
To actually get the story out of my head, I guess. I loved writing Rachel and Tim. Those were my favorite parts to write.
5. If you could have lunch with one of the Razorblade Kisses characters who would you choose and why?​
Rachel, because I think she’s such an interesting character for her background; what she did for Emery and who she ended up with. I think we’d have a very interesting conversation.
6. If you could be any one of your characters for a day who would it be and why?
Really? Any of them?  Probably Millie. She lives in DC, which I miss, and has a pretty cool job.
7. What’s up next from you?
I am in the process of finishing a book called Sunshine & Whiskey that is a romantic comedy and is nothing like I’ve written before. I think people will be shocked I wrote it.
8. Just for fun, if you could have a superpower what would it be?
Reading people’s minds. That would be awesome. 
I just want to say thank you so much for having me and taking the time to read my books. Every single person that picks up a book of my and takes time out of their day to read it I really appreciate it. Thank you. 
Leave a Reply

