Review: The Raven by Sylvain Reynard.

PicsArt_1423590249983

Good morning, guys!!

Well, at least it’s technically morning. I think.

LOL..mornings are not my thing, but here’s a great way to brighten up yours. Jenn did an awesome review of The Raven by Sylvain Reynard for you!! Take a moment to read her thoughts on it, and below I’ve included the all the book, buy and author links for you.

Enjoy!!

PicsArt_1423590989004~2

About The Raven:

18965316From the New York Times bestselling author of the Gabriel Series comes a dark, sensual tale of romance in a city shrouded in mystery…

Raven Wood spends her days at Florence’s Uffizi Gallery restoring fine works of Renaissance art. But an innocent walk home after an evening with friends changes her life forever. When she intervenes in the senseless beating of a homeless man, his attackers turn on her, dragging her into an alley. Raven is only semi-conscious when their assault is interrupted by a cacophony of growls followed by her attacker’s screams. Mercifully, she blacks out, but not before catching a glimpse of a shadowy figure who whispers to her…

Cassita vulneratus.

When Raven awakes, she is inexplicably changed. She returns to the Uffizi, but no one recognizes her and more disturbingly, she discovers that she’s been absent an entire week. With no recollection of the events leading up to her disappearance, Raven also learns that her absence coincides with one of the largest robberies in Uffizi history – the theft of a set of priceless Botticelli illustrations. When the baffled police force identifies her as its prime suspect, Raven is desperate to clear her name. She seeks out one of Florence’s wealthiest and elusive men in an attempt to uncover the truth about her disappearance. Their encounter leads Raven to a dark underworld whose inhabitants kill to keep their secrets.

PicsArt_1423590989004~2

PicsArt_1418398898903

5 stars

I am a huge fan of Sylvain Reynard’s writing and he has delivered once again with The Raven! It was brilliant and magical and I found myself completely immersed in the story and characters.

Raven is not your typical romance heroine, she’s not thin and beautiful and perfect and I absolutely adored that about her! She’s a curvy woman with a slight disability from an accident when she was a child. She lives in her own quiet world working at the Uffizi gallery in Florence and while she may be a little lonely she loves the art she sees and works on. Raven is also a woman with a wonderful heart. It is that amazing heart that leads her to a dark alley at night where her world is turned upside down.

The Prince (William), well I don’t quite know where to start with this one. He’s a very old vampire who runs Florence and has taken a unique interest in Raven. I had a hard time trying to figure out my feelings for him after reading The Prince, after-all he was vowing to go after the one and only Professor Gabriel Emerson. BUT, I admit that at some point I fell for him. He is dark and mysterious and sometimes a little creepy, but he is also fierce and sexy and sensual.

The relationship that develops between the Raven and the Prince is definitely not conventional. It has both parties questioning what is happening between them and how it is even possible.

I truly enjoyed this journey with Raven and William, as well all the other characters. I also loved getting a little of Gabriel and Julia again too. The art and the history in this book mesmerized me and I loved getting lost in it. There were some wonderful twists and turns in this book and I never got bored with the story.

As I always am, I am in awe of SR’s writing. It is beautiful and sensual and The Raven is already one of my favorite books of 2015. I cannot wait for more and am truly looking forward to seeing what happens next with Raven and the Prince.

I was provided with a complimentary copy to review for The Geekery Book Review.

PicsArt_1423590989004~2

Book Links:

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18965316-the-raven?ac=1

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Raven-Florentine-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00KWG9JL8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423591659&sr=8-1&keywords=the+raven+sylvain+Reynard

B&N:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-raven-sylvain-reynard/1119619658?ean=9780425266496

PicsArt_1423590989004~2

About the author:

My newest book is “The Raven,” which released February 3rd. Its prequel, “The Prince,” was released January 20th.

I am honoured to have had my novels appear on the New York Times and USAToday Bestseller lists.

I was a Semifinalist for Best Author in the 2011 and 2012 Goodreads Choice Awards. “Gabriel’s Inferno” was a Semifinalist for Best Romance in 2011 and “Gabriel’s Rapture” was a Finalist for Best Romance in 2012, in the Goodreads Choice Awards, as well. The final novel in The Gabriel Series, “Gabriel’s Redemption,” debuted at #6 on the New York Times Bestseller list. It was a Finalist for a 2014 Goodreads Choice Award as Best Romance.

I’m interested in the way literature can help us explore aspects of the human condition – particularly suffering, sex, love, faith, and redemption. My favourite stories are those in which a character takes a journey, either a physical journey to a new and exciting place, or a personal journey in which he or she learns something about himself/herself.

I’m also interested in how aesthetic elements such as art, architecture, food, drink, and music can be used to tell a story or to illuminate the traits of a particular character. In my writing, I combine all of these elements with the themes of redemption, forgiveness, and the transformative power of goodness.

I try to use my platform as an author to raise awareness about the following charities: Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep Foundation, WorldVision, Alex’s Lemonade Stand, and Covenant House.

website
twitter username
Leave a Reply

