New Release + Review: Just One Lie by Kyra Davis.

onsaleshirtless

Oh, you guys…THIS BOOK! I am SO in love with Mercy! I literally cannot find the right words to explain her awesomeness, and how amazing Just One Lie is. If you are lucky enough to already know how phenomenal of a writer Kyra Davis is, you’ll understand my speechlessness. This is my first time reading her, and I am hooked!  If you’re like I was and haven’t read her yet, go grab Just One Lie ASAP. You will not be disappointed. If you are already a fan, you don’t need me to tell you to buy it!!

Just in case you can’t tell how much I love Just One Lie, my review is below. 😉

~Wendy

About Just One Lie:

 23492689 (3)The long-awaited follow-up novel to the runaway New York Times bestseller Just One Night—which Publishers Weekly gave a starred review and proclaimed, “Davis skillfully creates an uplifting story in which sex is presented both as freedom and as a metaphor for power, and where raw chemistry is the clear winner over bland complacency.”

In the instant international sensation Just One Night, sensible Kasie Fitzgerald unleashed her passions—and found herself—through an explosive affair. In Just One Lie, we meet Kasie’s wild and tortured sister, whose impulsivity and lack of self-control has set off a chain of events that changes her family forever.

Melody Fitzgerald is the opposite of the “perfect” daughter. The lead singer of an indie rock band, she is impulsive and creative, with a rebellious streak that both defines her and becomes her greatest enemy. Her lover, the enticing and unpredictable Ash, shares her free spirit and penchant for trouble. On the face of it, he seems to be her perfect match.

So why is she so drawn to her soft spoken, reliable drummer, Brad Witmer? How can a man who wears polo shirts and reads the financial section of the paper be of any interest to her at all? And why on earth does someone like that appear to be so captivated by her?

Before she knows it, Melody finds herself on a path of self-discovery, passion, and affairs of the heart. But will a dark secret from her past derail it all? Or will its exposure be the very thing that unburdens her heart and allows her to seek a future with the one man who loves her completely?

PicsArt_1437756218325

My thoughts:

5 Stars

Every time I tried to sit down and read Just One Lie, something would come up, and I would have to put it down. For like two weeks this happened. If I had only know how phenomenal this book was, I would have let NOTHING stand in my way! This is my first Kyra Davis book, and I am seriously jealous of people who have read words written by her before. I am a true fan.

For me, this book is all about Mercy. The other characters are great, and complex, and totally needed, but Mercy is the one that shines so bright. She is damaged and so hard on herself, yet she is extremely philosophical, witty, loveable, and wise. The way the author writes her makes it feel like you ARE her. Makes you want to BE her, flaws and all. Everything she feels, YOU feel. Never before have I experienced a style of writing that connects you to the story like this author’s does. I am in awe of her word weaving abilities!

Just One Lie is off the charts amazing. You need to meet Mercy. I guarantee you’ll fall in love with her!!

One of my favorite lines:

“How messed up are you? You can’t even decide if you want to save yourself or punish yourself, and you clearly don’t know how to do either!”

And one of my favorite parts of ANY book EVER:

PicsArt_1438047574177

BOOK LINKS:

Order Now:
Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/qcwmaha
Amazon Paperback: http://tinyurl.com/o9dejuk
Nook: http://tinyurl.com/pyscdql
iBooks: http://tinyurl.com/oku7x3a
BAM: http://tinyurl.com/nld48sw
IndieBound: http://tinyurl.com/ounsj6s
Google: http://tinyurl.com/orkqdg3

About the author:

24375

New York Times bestselling author of JUST ONE NIGHT, DECEPTIVE INNOCENCE, the Sophie Katz mysteries, SO MUCH FOR MY HAPPY ENDING and the upcoming DANGEROUS ALLIANCE, JUST ONCE MORE and JUST ONE LIE (July 28th, 2015).

website

twitter username

One comment

Leave a Reply

