New Release & 5 star Review: Borrowing Trouble by Kade Boehme

Happy Sunday! I hope it’s been a great weekend! I’ve got a new must-read – Borrowing Trouble by Kade Boehme is a fantastic feel-good read! I’m a huge fan of all of Kade’s books and this a new favorite for me! I hope you love it as much as I did!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

Handsome Adult And Masculine Man On A Blue Background

After an amicable divorce, Jay Hill decided to move back to his rural hometown with his teenage kids. Being on good terms with his ex-wife and in laws has made the transition into single life pretty smooth. Things were good and uncomplicated. Then Landon Petty walked into his life.

Landon didn’t expect to still be stuck in his hometown working at his dad’s sawmill at this point in his life. Being an openly gay truck driver was as awkward in practice as in description. When Jay came to take over managerial duties at his dad’s business, Landon was surprised to find a friend. When Jay turns out not to be as straight as he thought, things get complicated.

When feelings for Landon shine a light on how much Jay’s life has been actually half lived, he’s forced to decide if he’ll jump in with both feet or if he’ll let Landon slip through his fingers.

Jenn Review5 Stars

I have found your next feel-good read! I am a huge fan of Kade Boehme, I absolutely love his books and the characters he creates and Borrowing Trouble is right up there on my favorites list! This was such a heart-warming, feel-good story about two men finding real love.

After his divorce, Jay moves back to his small Mississippi hometown and accepts a job as a manager at the local sawmill. He’s got his kids, he’s still friends with his ex-wife and her family and now he’s got a new job.  The last thing he expects with his new job is his reaction to Landon Petty, or the questions that reaction creates.

Landon is still working for his dad as a truck driver and managing until they hire a new guy, he’s gay and open about it but in his small town there really isn’t a lot of opportunities for real relationships. Landon is relieved when a new manager is hired but when he sees Jay, something changes and it’s not just his job duties.

I LOVED this book and all the feels! Landon and Jay quickly strike up an easy friendship watching games together and working together. It’s definitely a slow-build for these two but that’s one of the things I loved most; watching the friendship develop into something more and something strong.

Both men start to realize they have deeper feelings for each other and that presents challenges for each of them too. Jay has his ex-wife and kids to consider but he’s also feeling more than he ever has before. He isn’t always sure what to make of those feelings and why is it something he’s just now experiencing?  Landon knows he feels more than friendship towards Jay, but he’s not sure what that means for him. Jay was married and has kids and even though there is smoking hot chemistry between them, he isn’t sure if it can be more. I love how strong and supportive Landon is through this whole story.

I found myself rooting for these two from the beginning, wanting them to have their HEA! Jay and Landon just deserved that overwhelming true-love. Of course there are challenges (ehm, Jay’s ex-wife) for the two as their relationship builds, but the fact that they work together through their fears and insecurities makes this story just beautiful. Both Jay and Landon recognize that they have something special, something worth fighting for.  There are other great characters built in too, I loved Jay’s son Clint, what an awesome kid! I really liked that while there were struggles it wasn’t overly heavy on angst. There was a wonderful progression and flow to this story that made it impossible for me to put this book down.

Kade Boehme is easily a favorite for me, I will read anything he writes and Borrowing Trouble is at the top of favorite Kade books list.  I truly enjoyed this book from beginning to end, it is a touching story about how finding true love may not always be easy but it is most definitely worth it. My heart is happy! Thank you Kade for Borrowing Trouble and it’s heart-melty awesomemess. I can’t wait to see what comes next!

*I received an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.

amazon

AddtoGoodreads

Leave a Reply

