Here’s why The Geekery Book Review is Mad About Michelle!!

MadAboutMichelle Graphic
.
.
Today we are celebrating why the girls here at The Geekery Book Review are Mad About Michelle!!
The only reason the three of us met was because of Michelle, and we will be forever thankful. It all started on Twitter, where we would interact with each other off of her tweets. Most nights we were staying up way later than any responsible adult should be, but we were having so much fun!  We met up in person for the first time in Vegas when Michelle was at the Naughty Mafia Book Signing, and it was like we had known each other all our lives. I consider these girls my closet friends now!
Below are a few of our favorite stories about Michelle:
.
.
46b1ce5eac82bd083c039d833b0b0989

Wendy, Jenn, and Amber

.
.
Jenn’s story:
My favorite story, and it’s still something I joke about with Michelle, came about after reading Down to You and finding the playlist for that book on her website.
I remember Michelle mentioning a certain naughty scene between Olivia and Cash or Nash 😉 and the song, Still of the Night by WhiteSnake, particularly one instrumental part of the song that described that scene. For some reason that stuck in my mind and a few weeks later I made a late night trip to 7-11. It was just me and the creepy-ish guy working behind the counter. There was a song playing overhead that I remember recognizing but wasn’t paying much attention to. As I paid for my stuff, I realized exactly what song was playing and what part of the song I was hearing – the sex scene part. I instantly felt my whole face blush and I laughed a little. Well, Mr. Creepy behind the counter thought I was flirting with him and he starts all smiling at me. I was absolutely mortified, vowing I could never return to that 7-11 again. (even though it was just down the street from where I lived)
Immediately I had to tell Michelle about it – and her response was awesome – ‘clean up on aisle 7.’ I laughed so hard I about wet myself. When I got to meet her in Las Vegas a couple years ago she remember me and my story, there’s even a reference to that moment in the book she signed for m. It meant so very much to me that she remembered something as silly as my little moment. We still joke about it in fact, and I really can’t hear that song without thinking of her and smiling.
.
.
Down to You by M. Leighton

Down to You by M. Leighton

Jenn and Michelle at the Naughty Mafia Book Signing.

Jenn and Michelle at the Naughty Mafia Book Signing.

.

.

Amber’s story:
(I kinda surprised this on Amber. Sadly, she is dealing with the death of a close friend right now, and couldn’t do a video like she wanted, but she loves Michelle as much as Jenn and I do! This is what she had to say: )
Michelle is a bright light and her pasiion is expressed not only in the stories she tells, but in the way she cares for others. Meeting Michelle has been a joy to me, not just because it connected me to her as an author, but as a person and the friends I’ve made as a result.
.
.
Amber and Michelle

Amber and Michelle

.

.

Wendy’s story:

I’ll try to limit my story, because sometimes it can get long and tedious, and I don’t want to bore you to tears, but to me, this is one of, if not the most important story of my life. Without Michelle I don’t know where I’d be right now.

I had been extremely sick for almost 15 years. I stopped counting at 30 surgeries, and at that time I had a J-Tube and a G-Tube (feeding tubes), I had a port-a-cath for TPN (I.V. nutrients), I had had a couple strokes, and in all honesty, I just existed. I wouldn’t say I had given up, but I had definitely shut all feelings and emotions completely off.

I grew up surrounded by books and no TV, so books were my life, but I hadn’t read a book in probably 5 years. My thinking was along the lines of if I don’t have a future to dream of, I don’t want to dream of anything at all then. If you’re anything like me, when you read, you dream. You put yourself in the character’s place and FEEL what they feel, and I certainly didn’t want to feel anything, so I had stopped reading.

One day after I had been in the hospital for over a month, a nurse saw that I was bored and brought me her Kindle, telling me there was a really good book on there that I should read. Turns out that book was Fragile by M. Leighton. I was bored, and so restless, so I figured what the heck, I can be polite and read a few pages, then, hopefully something good will be on TV, and I can bore myself that way. Long story short, I read the whole book in a couple hours, and had the ugly cry to end all ugly cries! I don’t know if it was the subject matter, the timing, or what, but I hadn’t cried, or felt anything really, in YEARS, and that nasty, snotty cry changed everything in my life. It opened the floodgates of emotions, and was the start of me coming to terms with my life, and just dealing with my emotions instead of burying everything.
.
Maybe six months after that, I started following Michelle on Twitter, and she was so sweet and friendly that I took the chance and emailed her. I made myself sick worrying about how she would respond, but it turns out, she is just an amazing person all down the line. The whole reason I went to Vegas was to meet her, and she is just as awesome in real life as she is online.
.
I will never be able to thank Michelle for writing Fragile, and no matter how much I tell her, I will never be able to really express how much I love her, and thank her for the difference she has made in my life. I have the greatest friends, and I count her among them, and I am actually living life now instead of just existing. I will always be thankful for that, so Michelle, from the bottom of my heart, thank you for being you and for letting God work through you. You will always have a special place in my heart!! 💗
.
.

PicsArt_10-22-09.08.59

.

.

Michelle, all three of us love you death, and just thank you for being who you are. You totally rock!!

2 comments

  1. This post made me cry ugly tears that will undoubtedly leave me with a rip-roaring headache, but you know what? It’ll be totally worth it. I’m so honored to have met you three and to have made a good impression on you through something that I truly love to do. Writing gives me happiness, but wonderful people like YOU give it meaning. It matters to me what I put out there and I’ll never be able to express how very much this post–your words, your stories, your support–have meant and will always mean to me. I adore you. TRULY. Deep down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

