New Release & Review: The Other Game (The Perfect Game #4) by J. Sterling

I hope everyone had a fun and safe Halloween! Today I’ve got Dean Carter for you – yes Jack Carter’s little brother – in The Other Game. Time to go back and revisit Jack & Cassie and get to know the amazing Dean Carter better!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

Dean cover

Synopsis

From NEW YORK TIMES best-selling author J. Sterling, we dive headfirst back into the epic love story that started it all, The Perfect Game, but this time from Dean Carter’s point of view.

Freshman Dean Carter is the younger brother of campus hotshot Jack. Abandoned by their parents when they were young, Dean and Jack have a bond that most brothers only wish for. As Jack follows his dream of becoming a professional baseball player, he falls in love along the way with aspiring photographer Cassie Andrews. We see Jack get the girl—then lose the girl—and we follow his painful journey through it all via the eyes of his adoring younger brother, Dean.

With never-before-seen scenes and fresh new dialogue, Dean’s point of view is an emotional journey through relationships and the trials that test them. This isn’t the same old love story…but you will still fall. Let the gang steal your heart all over again in The Other Game.

Jenn Review

4 Stars

Welcome back to the Carter brothers! I love Dean Carter! I do have to say it was so nice to have the whole gang back.

The Other Game goes back to the beginning but this time it’s from Dean’s point of view. Dean really is Jack’s biggest fan, he’s so proud of his big brother and such a supporter, although it was nice to see him getting frustrated with Jack’s ways at times too.

One of the things I enjoyed most about this story was the softer side. Dean is a kind, sweet guy and I liked seeing this side of the story. I feel like we got to see more of their family and that was just heartwarming. I also felt like we got to see more of that side with Jack too. Where Jack is typically cocky, I felt like through Dean’s eyes we see that big older brother side he’s idolized his whole life. I did love that he will call him on things too. I also really thought Dean and Cassie’s relationship was special. Seeing how he felt about her too – so many feels!

Dean and Melissa, these two together. So many times I wanted to laugh or scream. I adore her spunky personality, she really is a little firecracker! Here we really see the difference between Dean and Jack, where Jack would have just barreled in with a smirk and cockiness, Dean is reserved and a bit unsure of how to handle his feelings for Melissa. I felt like I just wanted to hug him, like all the time. He just has the best heart!!

I’ve tried to focus on how Dean really made me feel, yes this really is Jack and Cassie’s story, experienced again for the most part, but honestly I would have liked for it to be a bit more Dean centered, focusing more on his life. But, it was still an enjoyable read that brought back all the feels from the first time and all new ones for Dean! Yeah, I so fell for him. I ADORED the end of this book – it made me so happy. I won’t give anything away but it made my heart so happy!

*I received a complimentary copy to review for The Geekery Book Review.

amazon

add-to-goodreads-button

Note From Author: Please note that this is The Perfect Game from Dean’s point of view. It follows the timeline of that story exactly, but from a whole new perspective. Please keep that in mind while reading. Enjoy!
ADDITIONAL NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR- If the epilogue has left you slightly confused, please remember that Dean and Melissa’s story did not get fully resolved until the last book in the series (The Sweetest Game). If you haven’t read The Sweetest Game yet, I implore you to do so. All of your questions about their relationship is addressed in that story, as well as one hell of a happily-ever-after for our favorite couple, Jack and Cassie. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it!
About J. Sterling
j sterling
I got fired from my last job. It’s true. I know you’re sitting there thinking “Jenn, how could anyone in their right mind fire someone as amazing and awesome as you???” And i’d love to give you a good reason, but the truth is- being this awesome is clearly very scary to other less awesome people.

So I said screw them and started writing my first book. And you know what I realized? Writing books that mean something to me is a million times better than working for my ass off for someone who doesn’t really care about anything other than the bottom line.

My soul feels more satisfied.
My heart, more full.

So thank you for reading, loving and recommending the stories I write.
I appreciate it more than you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

