New 5 Star Review: Good Enough by Kade Boehme

Happy New Year and Happy Monday! Good Enough by Kade Boehme was the final book of 2015 for me and I absolutely loved this book! (Insert book hangover here!!) I am a huge Kade fan and Good Enough is right up there with my ‘top Kade Boehme books,’ I couldn’t put it down once I started, really I was up until after 1 am finishing. I LOVE second chance stories and Good Enough truly became one of my favorites.

good enough

The day Payton Grady returns home to Seattle after a few years away, he sees a gorgeous club kid who accidentally leaves an interesting scarf behind at the bus stop. In a silly attempt to locate the owner, Payton’s best friend places an ad on Craigslist. Two years later, Payton and his friend are shocked to receive a response from the erstwhile club kid. After balking, Payton’s stunned to find his missed opportunity was with someone from his past — his ex-boyfriend from college.

Noah Di Cicco has been wracked with guilt since college when he crushed Payton. His insecurities and betrayal destroyed their relationship, and eventually Noah’s whole life. Six years and the experience of a rock bottom have changed Noah.

Now that Noah knows he’s good enough for love, both men remember what they had, while moving past the hurt they caused each other so long ago. Maybe they can be good enough together.

2nd Edition. Revised, heavily re-edited, and expanded.

Jenn Review

5 STARS

Everyone makes mistakes, especially when young and dumb, and man did Noah make a big one – one that he stills feel guilty about. But what happens if you get a second chance, even if it is just to apologize? Good Enough was a perfect second chance story for me, I loved every bit of it, even the parts that broke my heart. There was so much emotion in this story, the good and the bad, but so many feels.

Years ago Noah hurt Payton badly and it’s something neither man really dealt with. When a twist of fate and a really awesome scarf brings them back together, there is hurt, anger but there is still love. As they try to work through their past both men learn new things about themselves and each other. It was one of my favorite parts of this book, seeing Payton and Noah learn and grow.

Based on his mistakes and the way he hurt Payton, I didn’t expect to like Noah but oh holy moly, I completely fell in love with him. He stole my heart! He was young and scared and he certainly screwed up, but he has spent his years apart from Payton trying to make amends and make himself a better person. Shockingly, I found myself defending him at times (not his mistakes). Payton has struggled with the pain Noah inflicted for years, it seems to be something he never got past. He struggles with what it means having him back in his life, struggles with how he still feels about him. So. Many. Feels!

Kade Boehme has a wonderful ability to create characters that stay with me and linger in my heart, and Payton and Noah definitely stuck. Their story felt like an honest journey, with very real emotions. There were moments of anger, many of hurt but on top of that there was forgiveness, hope and love. If there were ever two men that deserved their happily ever after it is Payton and Noah. I adored their second chance love and Good Enough will be a book I will revisit. I have loved all of Kade’s books and Good Enough is right up at the top.

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon US

My NoH8 photoshoot shot

Kade Boehme is a southern boy without the charm, but all the sass. Currently residing in New York City, he lives off of ramen noodles and too much booze. He is the epitomy of dorkdom, only watching TV when Rachel Maddow or one of his sports teams is on. Most of his free time is spent dancing, arguing politics or with his nose in a book. He is also a hardcore Britney Spears fangirl and has an addiction to glitter.

It was after writing a short story about boys who loved each other for a less than reputable adult website that he found his true calling, and hopefully a bit more class. He hopes to write about all the romance that he personally finds himself allergic to but that others can fall in love with. He maintains that life is real and the stories should be, as well.

Leave a Reply

