New 5 Star Review & Excerpt: Manbuns & Martinis by R.L Griffin

 I cannot tell you how excited I am about Manbuns & Martinis by R.L. Griffin! She is one of my favorite authors and favorite people and before I fangirl everywhere…I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

 for-shits-&-giggles

Manbuns-and-Martinis-Front-Cover-Only-

Synopsis:

My name is Brad Ellis. You think you know me. You don’t know shit. I’ve been a hustler my entire life. I work three jobs to get what I want, but I’m not there yet. I live with a roommate that has been my best friend for over a decade and we make it work, but life is hard. It’s always been hard, until I met Megan Walker.

Sometimes people come into your life and you think it’s just for fun and games. Then they turn into one of the most important people. Don’t take anyone for granted, because as soon as you do they will be gone.

I’m a cover model.

I’m a dreamer.

Never stop hustling.

 Haircut

Jenn Review

5 Meaty Stars

Brad “Meat” Ellis just doesn’t get it! He’s a cover model, a trainer, a total hottie and he’s also a bit of a hot mess when it comes to women. We first meet him in Sunshine & Whiskey (one of my favorite books, seriously, go read it) when Megan and Laura hit Vegas and it’s also where he earned the nickname Meat. This is his story, about working hard, playing hard and trying to figure out that you don’t have to be perfect to be perfect for the right person.

I had so much fun reading this book, it’s so full of laughs and heart! There is more to Ellis than just the hot body and I loved getting to see the more vulnerable side of him. He’s cocky and a bit obnoxious sometimes, but he has such a good heart. And god, he’s funny, some of the things he thinks and says just makes me laugh so hard. But at the end of the day he wants to be good enough, to prove himself to that one perfect girl who’s really always been there. Oh so much epic swoon once he figures it out.

There are wonderful friendships, cringe-worthy crazy fans, a whole lot of Instagram posts and half naked hot guys in this story and I loved every single minute of it! R.L. Griffin has created such a fantastic group of characters and I just want to go have a drink with them, even though drinking with Duncan and Ellis could be dangerous! And I just have to add, Duncan, oh yeah, I want more of his story (hint hint).

R.L. Griffin is one of my favorite authors, her books make me laugh, make me cry, sometimes break me but no matter what they touch my heart and stick with me. Manbuns & Martinis is certainly one of her lighter books, and with her fantastic sense of humor it’s a perfect addition.

“Maybe that’s the problem with waiting until something is perfect, it never is.”

“Make it count. Never quit hustling.”

EXCERPT

I love summertime in this gym because it gets so hot outside they can’t quite keep the gym cool enough and sweat hangs in the air just like it used to in the weight room in college. I can close my eyes and hear the clanging of the free weights and almost pretend I’m back there, living the dream. Almost.
Dreams have to change, you know? I learned that lesson way too early if you ask me. This life is one hell of a motherfucker. Just when you think you’ve got something figured out you get knocked on your ass, sometimes literally. See, I’m not as dumb as you thought I was, am I? I have two years of college under my belt. I’d like to graduate one day, but right now I gotta hustle to pay the bills.
“Oh fuck yes, there she is. Oh my god, she’s wearing that yellow top that gets see-through when she sweats.” Duncan is almost vibrating with glee. “You better work that ass.”
“I’m sure I will,” I comment as I throw my empty coffee cup in the trash. “I’ll make sure she gets real sweaty as a thank you for my coffee.”
“You’re my hero,” Duncan offers, laughing.
My dark brown hair is a little longer than it’s been in awhile, I’ve actually been growing it a bit so I can get a manbun and get some pictures taken for covers like that. I’ve seen a bunch of chatter on social media about how sexy a manbun is right now. #manbun. Next week it will be something else, but you have to be able to adapt to the trends to sell covers, that I know.

Buy Manbuns & Martinis

Amazon

byathread

Stella’s future was set, and it was a bright one. She was engaged to a man she adored, and was headed to law school in the fall. Tragically, her perfectly planned future ends just as it was beginning.

With no ties to family or friends, Stella finds herself alone in a new city, spiraling out of control. Her typical day comes to a close with her passed out on the floor; sometimes clothed.

Luckily, her new roommate, essentially a stranger, is dead set on getting Stella past her grief and back to functioning within society. Putting one foot in front of the other, she climbs up from the bottom of a bottle. Even with all her progress, Stella walks through life unfeeling, numb. Defiant, she sends out warning signals for the world to keep away. But, is that what she really wants?

With the steadfast help of a few tight knit friends, she gradually begins to feel again. She starts to savor the flavor of food again; lets herself notice how the handsome bartender glances at her. Still, after allowing herself a fling, she wonders if she will ever be able to let go of her shattered past, fully enjoy the present, or get over what she thought would be her perfect future and with the man who destroyed her heart.

Purchase Links:

Amazon Barnes and Noble Kobo iBooks

 

This book will be $0.99 during the release.

sunshine

Sometimes the best things in life come from the unexpected. So if you lower your expectations, then you’ll never be disappointed. Sound cheesy? It is, but it’s also true. Clichés come from a grain of truth…like a man with a Porsche is compensating for something, or once a cheater always a cheater—you get the idea. Sorry, I digress. I’m supposed to be telling you what this book is about.

I’m Megan Walker, a lawyer at one of the hottest boutique law firms in Atlanta. I’m on the fast track to making partner and have my entire life planned out…or I did.

We all know how that goes, right? Best laid plans and all that.

Life just threw me a couple curveballs, so I’ve set out to take things into my own hands. By throwing caution to the wind and getting out of my A-type personality bubble, I’m learning more about myself than I have in my twenty-seven years.

Sound like a chick flick, doesn’t it?

It’s not.

Purchase Links:

Amazon Barnes and Noble Kobo iBooks

This book will be $0.99 during the release.

rlgriffin

 

R.L. resides in the Atlanta area with some cool dudes: her husband, son and two crazy dogs. She was born and raised in the South. She attended Georgia Southern University and moved to Washington, D.C. to intern in the United States Senate during the impeachment trial. Falling in love with the city, she went to law school at American University, Washington College of Law. By A Thread is R.L.’s second book, but is the first in a series that got her back into writing after a ten year hiatus. She writes anything from romantic suspense to psychological thriller to romantic comedy. One of the things that readers always say is they never know what kind of story they will get from R.L.

Why do I write?

I seriously can’t sleep! Once the characters get a hold of my brain it’s hard not to get it all out. I just write it down. I wrote my first book as an escape and to de-stress from law school. (i know this sounds crazy!)

What do you like to read?

I love reading, have since I learned how. My parents would take me every weekend to the book store or the library. I had every single Babysitter’s Club book. I read three books at a time and I LOVE all the new adult fiction being published.   I like any book with interesting characters. I like a good story and authors who bring their characters alive –well they inspire me!

Are you a serial reader?

My friends think I’m nuts. Yes, I love to read on the treadmill, in the middle of the night, on the weekend and even listen to audiobooks as I tour the state of GA for my real job! I am on my 2nd kindle in two years. First one just gave up and said I’m done reading! When my first kindle broke my husband was excited because he thought we would talk again, I just bought another.

Your books are Fiction Right?

Of course, but I’ve been known to take a few things from life experiences. Also, I can’t really curse in my real life (that much), so I do it in my books. (My mom can deal with it better that way!)

 

Website Facebook Twitter Instagram Goodreads Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

