Release Day Excerpt & Review: Us by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Happy release day to Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy – Us is here! I am beyond excited to get to share this with you today! I fell in love in Jaime and Wes in Him and absolutely adored them in Us.

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

businessman working on laptop  in black suit

Blurb

Can your favorite hockey players finish their first season together undefeated?

Five months in, NHL forward Ryan Wesley is having a record-breaking rookie season. He’s living his dream of playing pro hockey and coming home every night to the man he loves–Jamie Canning, his longtime best friend turned boyfriend. There’s just one problem: the most important relationship of his life is one he needs to keep hidden, or else face a media storm that will eclipse his success on the ice.

Jamie loves Wes. He really, truly does. But hiding sucks. It’s not the life Jamie envisioned for himself, and the strain of keeping their secret is taking its toll. It doesn’t help that his new job isn’t going as smoothly as he’d hoped, but he knows he can power through it as long as he has Wes. At least apartment 10B is their retreat, where they can always be themselves.

Or can they? When Wes’s nosiest teammate moves in upstairs, the threads of their carefully woven lie begin to unravel. With the outside world determined to take its best shot at them, can Wes and Jamie develop major-league relationship skills on the fly?

Warning: contains sexual situations, a vibrating chair, long-distance sexytimes, and proof that hockey players look hot in any shade of green.

Jenn Review

4.5 – 5 Stars

I feel like I should start with a little disclaimer – if you haven’t read Him yet, go read it first! Seriously, it’s a great book, but also there will be major spoilers. Us is the continuation of Jamie Canning and Ryan Wesley. And my goodness, what a great story, I seriously love these two.

We pick up in Canada where Wes is rocking his rookie season in the NHL and Jaime is coaching a youth hockey team. The two men are living together and so in love, even if it is a secret. The secret part definitely sucks, for both men, but as time goes on it gets more and more difficult for Jamie. Wes’s plan is to come out after his rookie season, but can they make it through? They also have a new neighbor to contend with, who just so happens to be one of Wes’s teammates. Blake likes to invite himself over all the time, unannounced, making it difficult for Jamie and Wes to actually get to enjoy any time together.

The love Jamie and Wes have for each other is strong and deep but it is definitely tested. Wes has a very busy travel schedule, limiting his time at home with Jamie. Jamie’s job isn’t going quite as well as expected and finally an unexpected illness makes both men re-evaluate it all.

There are a lot of other great characters in this book too, Jamie’s family is amazing! I loved them in Him but we really get to see how fantastic they really are in Us. Their love and acceptance of both Jamie and Wes made my heart happy! Especially given what a piece of crap Wes’s dad is. I also came to love Blake, sure he’s a pain in the beginning but he really is the best type of friend, standing by Wes and Jamie. As their story develops, we get to see a great side to the team Wes belongs to as well.

There are times when I’ve felt like a second book may or may not be necessary but in this case I actually thought this book was better than the first! It didn’t feel like they created drama for the sake of drama, but instead it was real life challenges. There were struggles in this book that made me love Jamie and Wes even harder for all they had to go through and in the end yes their love wins. Yes, there was more angst in Us but I really felt like I came away with a true sense of happiness for these two.

Us was a fantastic read that I enjoyed from beginning to end. I would definitely recommend these books, I mean who doesn’t love hockey players with amazing hearts (and skittles too and awesome green shirts!)

*ARC provided in exchange for review for The Geekery Book Review*

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazonhttp://bit.ly/himaff

B&Nhttp://bit.ly/21xPNgm

iBookshttp://apple.co/1JRqCMQ

Kobohttp://bit.ly/1TnQNfM

ShareFeb23

Excerpt

At long last, I’m twenty paces away, then ten. Then I’m opening our door. “Hey babe!” I call out like I always do. “I made it.” I drag my duffel over the threshold, then toss my suit coat on top, abandoning these things beside the door, because all I need now is a kiss.

Only then do I notice that our apartment smells amazing. Jamie has cooked dinner for me. Again. He is the perfect man, I swear to God.

“Hey!” he calls, emerging from the hallway leading to our bedroom. He’s wearing jeans and nothing else except—and this is unusual—a beard. “Do I know you?” He gives me a sexy smile.

“I was going to ask the same thing.” I’m staring at the sandy-blond beard. Jamie has always been clean-shaven. I mean—we’ve known each other since before facial hair. He looks different. Older, maybe.

And hot as blazes. Seriously, I can’t wait to feel that beard against my face, and maybe my balls… Jesus. The blood is already rushing south, and I’ve been home fifteen seconds.

And yet I’m just stuck there in the middle of the room for a moment, because even though it’s been eight months since Jamie and I started up together, I’m still a little stunned at my own good fortune. “Hi,” I say again, stupidly.

He walks forward, his easy gait so familiar that my heart breaks a little bit. He puts his hands on my traps and squeezes the muscle there. “Don’t go away for so long. If you do that again, I’m going to have to sneak into your hotel room on the road.”

“Promise?” I ask, and it comes out like gravel. He’s close enough now that I can smell the ocean scent of his shampoo and the beer he drank while he waited for me.

“If I ever get a winning lottery ticket and a day off, I’ll do it,” he says. “Hotel sex after a game? Sounds hot.”

Now I’m measuring the distance to our sofa and counting the layers of clothes I’ll need to remove in the next ninety seconds.

Leave a Reply

