Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY: The Doctor in Unit H by Kris Cook

Happy Friday! Today I’m excited to share the next book in Kris Cook’s Mockingbird Place series, The Doctor in Unit H! And it while it certainly was not what I expected for Jaris’s story, it was a story I enjoyed! Make sure you check out the GIVEAWAY too!
Happy Reading!
~Jenn
Title: The Doctor in Unit H
Series: A Mockingbird Place Novel
Author: Kris Cook
Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 17, 2016
Maddox Butler
Some people say you can’t fall in love at 18. But I did. And the man of my dreams? Jaris Black. He was also 18.Our first year at medical school we moved in together. It was…perfect.

Until…


I haven’t seen or talked to him in six years. But I’ve never stopped thinking about him. Jaris is a very successful doctor, which is no surprise to me. Still living in Unit H at Mockingbird Place.
God, how I’ve missed him.


I won’t drag Jaris into the chaos that is my life. No. I won’t. But my mother who is dying has requested to see him. They were so close. Still are.
I had to honor Mom’s wish. I called him and he’s arriving in an hour. Can I keep my feelings hidden from him? I need to, for his sake

 

Jenn Review
3.5 – 4 Stars
The Doctor in Unit H is a continuation of the Mockingbird Place series, this one focusing on Dr. Jaris Black and his story. I was really curious about Dr. Black from the other stories, especially with the way Kris Cook ended the previous Mockingbird Place book!
This story isn’t really all about Jaris though, it’s more from the POV of Maddox Butler, the man Jaris loves. The two met when they were starting medical school, became roommates at Mockingbird Place and quickly fell in love. Enter a little crazy though, as both men start classes Maddox meets fellow student Clayton who quickly develops an obsession with Maddox. While things develop sweetly between Jaris and Maddox, they don’t stay that way.
There were definitely twists in this story that I did not expect, and I felt this story was a bit different from the rest in this series. The story a bit more complicated than they have been. But in the end, I really felt like this was a story of hope and true love. Jaris and Maddox proving that life is far from perfect and sometimes it’s about how we deal with the things life throws at us. Jaris and Maddox were clearly just meant to be and I loved how despite the circumstances these two faced and even Maddox trying to protect the people he cared about, Jaris’s love was always steadfast and true.
The Doctor in Unit H is a nice addition to this series, and I loved seeing the rest of the gang pop up and show just how awesome they are! I’m definitely looking forward to Tony’s story, he has always intrigued me! Once again I really enjoyed going back to Mockingbird Place!

Though starting in straight erotic romance, Kris’s total focus now is on gay romance. When asked why recently, his answer was “My muse finally came out of the closet. Isn’t it about time? I’ve been out since I was twenty-five.” A voracious reader, Kris loves many genres of fiction, but this writer’s favorite books are romances that are edgy, sexy, with rich characters and unique challenges. Kris’ influences include Anne Rice, JR Ward, Lexi Blake and Shayla Black. Last year, Kris married the love of his life Stephen.
 

HOSTED BY:

One comment

Leave a Reply

