New Review: Black Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig

I am so excited about this book – Black Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig! It was so not what I expected going in, but completely captivated me, kept me guessing and had me breathless! I’m thrilled to share my review and hopefully you’ll be one-clicking this intriguing story!

Happy Reading!

~Jenn

30236300

I’ve loved him as long as I can remember.

The gangly boy with big brown eyes and unruly hair who grew up into an intoxicating man. He wears scruff like he invented it and ambles with a swagger that makes panties drop.

Killian Shepard.

Shep.

We grew up together. We played Ghost in the Graveyard. Had our own rock band. It didn’t matter that he was five years older than me. It didn’t matter that he looked at me as a kid sister even as I grew into woman. It didn’t even matter when he left me behind to go to college and start his adult life.

He’d be back.
He was always meant to be mine.

He came back, all right. But instead of smelling of promises, he stunk of betrayal. And he destroyed me—us—the day he married my sister instead of me.

So I did the only thing a girl like me in my position could do.

I got my revenge.
I married his brother, Kael.
Now we’re one big happy f*cking family.

***mature content appropriate for 18+

Jenn Review

4.5 Stars

This book is not at all what I expected – in a great way! When I started I was a little nervous that this book wasn’t going to be for me, but it was, it really was and I’m so glad I didn’t give up! I loved these characters and their depth and their story, oh so intense! This book had my emotions all over the place and there were times I definitely wasn’t sure what team I was on! Black Swan Affair (I absolutely love this name by the way) is the kind of book that shows that things aren’t always cut and dry, that love, hope, forgiveness can all be tangled together in a complicated weave. This story shows that what we think is perfect for us may not always be the case.

These characters, Maverick, Killian and Kael are complicated! Maverick believes she is love with Killian, she’s known him all her life and believes they are meant to be together. They certainly have a connection and chemistry together, but the fact is he’s married to her sister, Jillian. To only complicate matters more Maverick just married Kael, her childhood best friend who just so happens to be Killian’s younger brother. Tangled web – oh yes!

There’s revenge, there’s anger, there is definitely angst and oh yeah, there is love! As Maverick works her way through how she really feels about the two brothers we see some of the past as well, but through Kael’s eyes. He’s always been truly in love with Maverick and determined to make her his, to give her all of his love. Killian is more of a mystery at first, trying to sort out his relationship with everyone had me guessing all kinds of things.

I have to say this story totally captivated me, the idea of true love and how we get there, what it takes to make it real. I loved this journey with these characters, even if I didn’t like them all the time, it was powerful and raw and I felt for all of them. There are a lot of secrets as well, family connections and drama and once it was all revealed it left me breathless! The end was just brilliant, perfectly crafted! This book was definitely more than I expected and would highly recommend this book, it was quite the journey!

Buy Black Swan Affair

AMAZON 

BARNES & NOBLE

9845429

I’m just a regular ol’ Midwest girl who likes Game of Thrones and am obsessed with Modern Family and The Goldbergs. I run, I eat, I run, I eat. It’s a vicous cycle. I love carbs, but there’s love-hate relationship with my ass and thighs. Mostly hate. I like a good cocktail (oh hell…who am I kidding? I love any cocktail). I’m a huge creature of habit, but I’ll tell you I’m flexible. I read every single day and if I don’t get a chance…watch the hell out, I’m a raving bitch. My iPad and me: BFFs. I’m direct and I make no apologies for it. I swear too much. I love alternative music and in my next life I want to be a bad-ass female rocker. I hate, hate, hate spiders, telemarketers, liver, acne, winter and loose hairs that fall down my shirt (don’t ask, it’s a thing).

Follow me on tsu also:https://www.tsu.co/klkreig

Leave a Reply

